Thursday, October 27, 2016
Wednesday, October 26, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Monday, October 24, 2016
Sunday, October 23, 2016
Saturday, October 22, 2016

It’s time to take women to task for their manners. In an over-casual age, those who’ve traditionally made sure everyone else behaves have seemingly forgotten this sacred trust. Lest you think the lines of demarcation have disappeared, there are st…

Friday, October 21, 2016
Friday, October 21, 2016
Thursday, October 20, 2016
Wednesday, October 19, 2016

The 5th Annual Stone Energy Gumbo Cookoff was held Wednesday evening from 5:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. at the Cajundome. The event is the biggest fundraiser of the year for the United Way of Acadiana. In 2015 the cookoff raised more than $200,000.

"We're are still crying here in Atlanta," says Ruth Caillouet, of her Baton Rouge home. She's an associate dean in the School of Education at Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville, Ga.

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

We’re so glad he is. Longtime Advocate favorite Brian Blanchard will ascend the throne this Mardi Gras season as King Richard Coeur de Lion LXV of The Order of Troubadours. Honored with an elegant City Club Sunday brunch, Blanchard will rule with …

Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Monday, October 17, 2016

There has been speculation that The Great Flood of 2016 didn't get more national attention because it wasn't personalized with a name — Katrina, Andrew, Camille, etc.

Sunday, October 16, 2016

"After reading a recent article about kids being 'scared straight,' ” says Wayne Weilbaecher, of Covington, "I remembered this happening to my buddies and me when we were kids in New Orleans.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Saturday's Festivals Acadiens et Creoles acts feature Ossun Mardi Gras Capitaine Megan Brown, Basile Mardi Gras Capitaine Potic Ryder, Lafayette Mardi Gras Association Soul Express Brass Band, Lafayette Creole Head Hunters - Mardi Gras Indians Sco…

Friday, October 14, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Monday, October 10, 2016
Sunday, October 09, 2016
Saturday, October 08, 2016
Friday, October 07, 2016
Thursday, October 06, 2016
Wednesday, October 05, 2016
Tuesday, October 04, 2016
Monday, October 03, 2016

Tony Falterman, of Napoleonville, says my mention in the Monday column of consuming Lucky Dogs on Bourbon Street during a New Orleans visit "reminded me of an incident a long time ago.

Sunday, October 02, 2016
Saturday, October 01, 2016

As is forever the case, couture is always on to the next thing. And while some designers are going the ruffles and Renaissance route this fall, others are already finding their spring inspiration elsewhere.

Friday, September 30, 2016
Thursday, September 29, 2016
Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Dr. Sangeeta Shah hosted the Acadiana Symphony Women’s League for an autumn coffee at her Island Point home. The ladies enjoyed Champagne and brunch and previewed upcoming "fun-raisers" — not the least of which is a drawing for a new Mercedes — wh…