Saturday, February 17, 2018
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Saturday, February 03, 2018
Friday, February 02, 2018
Saturday, January 27, 2018

Clearly Brexit hasn’t held some Brits back. Ever mad for class distinctions, the hot trend is canine couture, according to the Secret World of Posh Pets. With the same silk and Solstiss lace additions as the real deal and no, it’s not the queen’s …

Saturday, January 20, 2018
Saturday, January 13, 2018

With 2017 in the rearview mirror, it’s time for a parting wave to the word of the year — truth — according to the Global Language Monitor. It seems many Americans bandied this about this past year, possibly because of the news and those accused of…

Saturday, January 06, 2018

Every New Year is a time for reckoning — out with the old, in with the new, and nowhere more so than in the fashion industry. Designers already have decided what will stay and what will go, and if you plan to be au courant, you’ll have to go full …

Saturday, December 30, 2017
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Tuesday, December 26, 2017

The Lafayette Garden Club convened at the UL Alumni House for Christmas cheer and those ladies inducted into the Circle of Roses. The favored few — Cathy Andrew, Maggie Chiasson, President Diana Nolan and Margo Racca — were recognized for their le…

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Christmas is coming, the geese are getting fat, please have your package wrapped, remember where you’re at. I happen to love the U.S. Postal Service, particularly since that cold Christmas Day when they brought the package from my far-away daughter.

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

United Way of Acadiana treated its donors to a cocktail party in the lobby of the Iberiabank Tower downtown. An annual affair, “Spirit of Giving” is a thank-you to supporters for their monetary gifts during the year, and this year’s guest of honor…

Saturday, December 16, 2017

It’s that time of year again, and while Santa may still be making his list and checking it twice, I already know who’s been bad. Ladies and gentlemen, this year’s Naughty List. No names necessary, they know who they are.

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

The really naughty guys from last year must’ve gone hunting, for all was tame as Van Eaton & Romero hosted its annual office party and ugly sweater contest at Le Pavillion. Judged by none other than Fête and A.J. McGee, of Right Angle, the reg…

Saturday, December 09, 2017

It’s time for that holiday social institution, the office party. Long the bane of bosses and employees alike, alcohol doesn’t help the phenomenon. But while there’s little that can be done to duck one, there are things to avoid saying that will im…

Tuesday, December 05, 2017

The grande dame of women's Mardi Gras krewes in Lafayette will celebrate its 50th anniversary ball this coming season. Attakapas has already begun marking the milestone with an elaborate anniversary party at Acadian Village and custom T-shirts dep…

Saturday, December 02, 2017
Tuesday, November 28, 2017
Saturday, November 25, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Elegant indeed. The Krewe of Victoria formally announced their royalty, Queen Victoria Renee Borne and her consort, Prince Albert Johnny Plasencia, at a City Club soiree. Victoria is celebrating its 25th anniversary this year and had the ice sculp…

Saturday, November 18, 2017
Tuesday, November 14, 2017

The Lafayette Bar Association honored Donovan “Donnie” Jay O’Pry II, of the O’Pry Law Firm, as he was installed as the group's 2017-18 president. The event was held at Iberia Bank Tower downtown and attended by both bench and bar. Conducting the s…

Saturday, November 11, 2017
Tuesday, November 07, 2017

Despite the afternoon deluge, authors and book lovers alike flooded the Alumni House for the UL Press reception. The event showcased the university’s academic elite and some very scholarly titles, such as “Anthologie de la Littérature Louisianaise…

Saturday, November 04, 2017
Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Chorale Acadienne performed its “World Changers” fall concert in the new St. Pius X Church. The program included Bach’s "Magnificat in D Major," Bob Chilcott’s "Five Days that Changed the World" and Randall Thompson's "The Testament of Freedom," a…

Saturday, October 28, 2017
Tuesday, October 24, 2017

The University of Louisiana-Lafayette Hospitality Management students and the Louisiana Restaurant Association teamed up for their Food & Wine Soiree at the Alumni House. There wasn’t a parking place to be had as more than 20 restaurants and w…

Saturday, October 21, 2017
Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Krewe of Xanadu revved its Mardi Gras motor at “Amazing Race,” a fall social plus scavenger hunt, courtesy of Kacey Patrick, Lissa Adkins and Stefani Celio. There was dinner, dancing and DJ Jeramie Kinnerson to get the party started before teams c…

Saturday, October 14, 2017

This week, the Lauren-Reilly Eliot Company resurrected Tennessee Williams’ iconic tale of New Orleans dysfunction and love, "A Streetcar Named Desire." To herald the occasion, a Stella! Shouting Contest was held, a pirated version of the one stage…

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

What the world needs most, better men. And five good men answered the call to benefit Hearts of Hope and victims of sexual abuse at the second annual Studs in Stilettos. Hosted by The Grouse Room and presented by Dr. James and Susan Arterburn amon…

Saturday, October 07, 2017
Tuesday, October 03, 2017
Saturday, September 30, 2017

With fall officially here, New Zealand’s Rodd & Gunn is offering the Jack Reacher Jacket for men. A modern update of the bomber, it’s a casual Harrington jacket made of imported Italian cotton, and it's PU-coated, understated and versatile. It…

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Hurricane Harvey relief took the form of Banded Together, a special benefit concert held in the River Ranch town square. The Red Cross, Acadiana Hospitality Foundation and Double R Restaurant Group joined forces for those in need, while LUS sponso…

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Wine critics take an extremely dim view of supermarket wines. These are the wines most Americans drink, and, according to industry publications, mass-marketed varieties easily rake in hundreds of millions per year, although they sell for less than…

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Agave River Ranch hosted Zonta Club for their 39th anniversary celebration. Members seized the opportunity to wear their signature orange “Zonta says no to violence to women” shirts as part of their campaign against domestic violence and human tra…

Saturday, September 16, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017

There are always great dresses at this one. The Eta Chi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha hosted its third annual Zydeco Jazz Brunch, Pink Pizzazz, at Le Pavillion. Guests enjoyed the Petroleum Club elegance and a sumptuous Sunday spread, all to …

Saturday, September 09, 2017
Tuesday, September 05, 2017

Imonelli played host to the Lafayette Parish Medical Society and its auxiliary for cocktails and more. “The alliance donates a scholarship to a medical student,” Christine Landes said. “This is just a get-together to get people past and present to…

Saturday, September 02, 2017

Following a recent public survey, Australia has pronounced a certain shade of olive “the world’s ugliest color.” Their intentions were good, hoping to use color psychology to discourage their citizens from smoking by placing that color on cigarett…

Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Saturday, August 26, 2017