LAFAYETTE — “Justice will bring about Peace” is the theme when the Diocese of Lafayette honors 94 parishioners and persons 7 p.m. Friday during its Annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Mass and Award Ceremony Celebration. The ceremony will take place at the Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist here.

The Most Rev. J. Douglas Deshotel, bishop of the Diocese, will preside over the program, which pays tribute to those who exemplify King’s traits. The bishop will serve as both celebrant and homilist.

Also on the program will be the Very Rev. Chester Arceneaux, Rector.

According to Stephanie Bernard, director of the Diocese’s Office of Black Catholic Ministries, which sponsors the event, the 2017 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. recipients include:

Marcello and Kelli Davis of St. Mary Magdalen Catholic Church in Abbeville; Ralph Hutchinson and Audrey Reaux of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Catholic Church in Abbeville; Janice Allen, Clarence and Marie Celestine, Clarisse Noel, and Joseph and Prenella Robertson of St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church in Breaux Bridge; Voorhies Short of Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Church in Broussard; Laura M. Fontenette, and George and Barbara Thomas of St. Joseph/St. Anthony Catholic Church in Broussard; Lois Glaude of Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic Church in Carencro; and

Marilyn A. Babineaux and Nolan J. Babineaux of St. Rose of Lima Catholic Church in Cecilia; Beverly Miller of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Catholic Church in Chataignier; Gene Malbrough of Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church in Church Point; Amanda Augustus of St. Theresa Catholic Church in Crowley; Cole Delcambre, Hannah Hebert, Logan LeBlanc and Alyssa Theriot of Our Lady of the Lake Catholic Church in Delcambre; Beatrice Broussard, Mildred Broussard, Ramona Jones and Ali Trahan of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church in Delcambre; Anna Robertson Smith of Saint Benedict the Moor Catholic Church in Duson; and

Deacon Gary M. Gaudin of St. Anthony of Padua Catholic Church in Eunice; Deante’ Gibson and Evelyn Jones of of St. Peter the Apostle Catholic Church in Four Corners; Daniel Ardeneaux of St. Jules Catholic Church in Franklin; and

Verna Guillory of St. Anne Chapel in Frilot Cove; Amy Lowery and Gwen Miller of St. Charles Borromeo Catholic Church in Grand Coteau; Tiffany Capps of Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist in Lafayette; Earnest Johnson, Jr., of Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church in Lafayette; Mary Eunice Johnson, Aaron Lee, Deborah Narcisse and Keevy Narcisse, Sr.,of Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church in Lafayette; and

Roxanne Chaisson-Pitre, Bernadette Jacquet, Glenn Lazard and Sally Senegal of St. Anthony Catholic Church in Lafayette; Mayonna Landry, Marcella Perro, and Ruby and Gobb Williams of St. Paul the Apostle/Good Hope Catholic Church in Lafayette; Bernadette Derouen of Holy Family Catholic School in Lafayette; Gloria Auzenne, Sharon Gradney, Morris Lavergne, Jr., and Felicia Sam of Holy Family Catholic Church in Lawtell; Joseph James Martin and Mary Lou Moore of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Lebeau; Ida Rami of St. Catherine Catholic Church in Leonville; and

Dean and Gene Lanclos of St. Leo the Great Catholic Church in Leonville; Gwendolyn M. Dunn and Megan Elizabeth Zepherin of Our Lady of Victory Catholic Church in Loreauville; Theresa Rene Auzenne, Albertha Fontenot, Richard Gobert and Judy Johnson of Saint Ann Catholic Church in Mallet; Betty McZeal and John David Thibeaux of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Maurice; and

Michael and Carla Cormier, Sr., and Elston and Alberta Touriac, Sr., of St. Edward Catholic Church in New Iberia; Dr. Burt Bujard of St. Peter Catholic Church in New Iberia; Gailia B. Batiste and John Kerstan Major of Holy Ghost Catholic Church in Opelousas; Gregory J. Randle, II, of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Parks; Yvonne B. Adams and Christopher J. Bailey of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Patterson; and

Raymond Paul Cassimere and John Floyd Villery of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Plaisance; Dorothy Sylvester of St. Mary Catholic Church in Port Barre; Charles Lazard, Sr., of St. Jules Mission in Prairie Laurent; Jimmie and Theresa Wilson of Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church in Rayne; Glenda Kately Sonnier of Notre Dame Catholic Church in St. Martinville; Viola Bernard Mallet and John C. Senegal of St. Martin de Porres Catholic Church in Scott; Lorena Benjamin of Immaculate Conception Catholic Church in Verdunville; Kelly Trahan of Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Ville Platte; Garland Deville of St. Joseph Catholic Church in Ville Platte; and

Joan Broussard, Dr. Aline Garrett, and Tony and Marcie Martyof St. Anne Catholic Church in Youngsville; John Dolan Bernard and Gilfred Joseph Chaisson of the Knights of Peter Claver Ladies Auxiliary Little Theresa Court 11; and John Reedom of the Office of Black Catholic Ministries.