A handful of new candidates signed up to run for office Wednesday, but there were few surprises as the second day of qualifying wrapped up for the Oct. 24 election.

In the race for City-Parish Council, three new candidates threw their hats in the ring.

Ursula Anderson, who has been vocal in local and state politics in recent years, qualified Wednesday for District 3, joining Patrick Lewis, an auditor with the Lafayette Parish school system, and businessman John Petersen, who both qualified Tuesday.

District 3 incumbent Brandon Shelvin has yet to sign up, but he has said he plans to seek re-election.

In District 6, Sevie Zeller, editor of the publication Covenant Spotlight, stepped into the race to challenge incumbent Andy Naquin, who qualified Tuesday along with former District 6 Councilman Bruce Conque.

Carol Ross, president of the marketing, public relations and advertising firm Edge Communications, qualified Wednesday for the District 8 race, which is an open seat because incumbent Keith Patin decided not to run for re-election.

Elizabeth Webb Hebert, convention sales manager for the Cajundome, and Gerald Judice, one of the owners of Judice Inn restaurant, qualified Tuesday for the District 8 seat.

Three City-Parish Council members were still unchallenged at the close of qualifying Wednesday: District 1 Councilman Kevin Naquin, District 4 Councilman Kenneth Boudreaux and District 9 Councilman William Theriot.

Other council seats are contested but saw no new candidates on Wednesday.

Teacher Nanette Cook and Joseph “Bobby” Richard, pastor at Hope Alive Freedom Church in Lafayette, qualified on Tuesday for District 7.

District 7 incumbent Don Bertrand is not seeking re-election.

Charlotte Stemmans Clavier qualified Tuesday to run against District 2 Councilman Jay Castille, and veterinarian Monique Koll stepped in to challenge District 5 Councilman Jared Bellard.

State Rep. Joel Robideaux, R-Lafayette, and City-Parish Chief Administrative Officer Dee Stanley both signed up Tuesday to replace City-Parish President Joey Durel, who is serving his third and final term.

Two more candidates have qualified in the race to succeed Lafayette Parish Sheriff Mike Neustrom.

Rick Chargois and John Rogers, who both signed papers Wednesday at the Lafayette Parish Courthouse, will join Chad Leger and Mark Garber, who qualified Tuesday in the race for Lafayette Parish’s top lawman.

Chargois is a 25-year Louisiana State Police veteran who also has experience in the oil and gas industry.

Rogers began his career as a jailer at the Sheriff’s Office, later earned a law degree and now works as a litigation specialist for the agency.

Leger has been the police chief in Scott since 2003 and worked 12 years before that as a sheriff’s deputy in Lafayette Parish.

Garber is a worker’s compensation attorney who has served as a prosecutor and in law enforcement in Acadiana, in Texas and at the federal level.

In a contested legislative race for House District 45, property title attorney Jean-Paul Coussan signed up Wednesday and will face two other candidates for the seat being vacated by Robideaux, who is running for Lafayette City-Parish president.

Coussan will compete against Andre Comeaux and Jan Swift, who both qualified Tuesday.

Swift runs the nonprofit Upper Lafayette Economic Development Foundation, and Comeaux is an insurance executive.

All three candidates are Republicans who live in Lafayette.

In another legislative race, Lafayette Republican state Sen. Page Cortez picked up some competition Wednesday when Terry Hughes joined the race. Hughes, who listed his political party as “other,” is from Lafayette.

The House District 44 seat attracted more attention Wednesday when Desmond Onezine signed up to run against incumbent Rep. Vincent Pierre, who qualified Tuesday. Onezine is a Democrat from Lafayette.

Incumbent state Rep. Stephen Ortego, a Democrat from Carencro, signed up for another term Wednesday. So far, Ortego is the only candidate who has qualified to run for the House District 39 seat.

Qualifying continues through Thursday.