A crowd of Acadiana politicians coasted back into office Thursday after no one signed up to run against them during qualifying this week for the Oct. 24 election.

Three Lafayette city-parish councilmen, five legislators and the sheriff and parish president in St. Landry Parish are among those who won’t have to endure a re-election campaign this fall.

“It’s a good feeling. I feel this is a statement somewhat in this arena,” said Lafayette City-Parish Councilman Kenneth Boudreaux, who won his third term without opposition. “I’m honored. I’m humbled. It’s some degree of relief.”

Councilmen Kevin Naquin and William Theriot also made it through qualifying week without a challenge.

Lafayette Parish Coroner Kenneth Odinet Jr. and longtime Clerk of Court Louis Perret are both unopposed.

“I’m very thankful and appreciative to the voters for getting to work for them for another four years,” said Perret, who is entering his fifth term. “I think the main reason I was re-elected without opposition is because of the hard work my staff does.”

St. Landry Parish Sheriff Bobby Guidroz glided to victory Thursday when no other candidate signed up to run for the job.

Guidroz has been sheriff since 2006 when he was a elected to complete the unexpired term of Sheriff Howard Zerangue, who died.

“I like to think people are happy with the job we do,” Guidroz said.

St. Landry Parish President Bill Fontenot and St. Martin Parish President Guy Cormier also won re-election when no one else qualified to run against them.

Several Acadiana legislators are unchallenged for re-election.

Senate District 22 incumbent Fred Mills Jr., R-St. Martinville, will begin a second full Senate term in January. Since 2011, Mills has represented Senate District 22, which covers areas in Lafayette, St. Martin and Iberia parishes.

Mills was a member of the Louisiana House from 2007 until he won an election to the Senate in 2011.

“I want to thank the people of my district — and a special thanks to my family for letting me do this,” Mills said.

State Sen. Jonathan Perry, R-Kaplan, in January will begin his second full term in Senate District 26, which includes portions of Vermilion, Lafayette, Acadia and St. Landry parishes.

Some members of the House also coasted into office Thursday because they were the lone qualifiers.

State Rep. Jack Montoucet, D-Crowley, who represents areas in Lafayette and Acadia parishes in District 42, was given a third term.

State Rep. Stuart Bishop, R-Lafayette, will begin a second term in January representing a portion of Lafayette Parish in District 43, and state Rep. Taylor Barras, R-New Iberia, glided through qualifying for the District 48 seat that covers parts of Iberia, Lafayette and St. Martin parishes.