LAFAYETTE — The Christiana Smith African-American Alumni Chapter at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette celebrates its 20th anniversary Oct. 15 at the Alumni Center, 600 E. St. Mary Blvd.

The chapter is named for the university’s first black graduate.

At the event, the chapter will honor alumni from each decade. Honorees include:

• 1950s: Teletha Aldridge Benjamin and R.B. Jones Jr.

• 1960s: Wilfred Pierre and Connie Roque Steward

• 1970s: Dwayne Murray and Godfrey White

• 1980s: Rickey Miniex and Clyde Simien

• 1990s: Shawn Wilson

• 2000s: Princess Willis Easter

Outstanding Alumni Association honoree Dr. Joseph Keith Melancon will also be recognized.

Doors open at 8 p.m. with the ceremony honoring past alumni beginning at 8:30 p.m.

The event is open to the public. The event features food, a cash bar and music.

Tickets are $15 per person or $25 per couple with all proceeds benefiting a scholarship fund for a graduating high school senior.

Tickets may be purchased online at: or in person at the Student Union Information Desk:, 600 McKinley St.