Four people have expressed interest so far in serving out the remainder of former Lafayette Parish School Board District 7 member Mark Cockerham’s term on the board.

As of Friday, interested candidates who had submitted ré sumé s to the School Board were: Dan Jenkins, a manager of research and development for an oilfield services company; Jenny Krueger, executive director of the Acadiana Symphony Orchestra; Melinda Mangham, a retired Lafayette Parish teacher; and William Thornton, an attorney.

Cockerham has recommended Krueger be appointed to serve out the remainder of his term, which expires Dec. 31.

“She’s involved in the school system and attends board meetings,” he said. “She’s a respected community leader, and she’s a strong person. It will take a strong person to go into that role.”

The door is still open for others wishing to be appointed. To qualify, an appointee must be 18, a Louisiana resident for at least two years and a resident of District 7 for at least a year.

The board meets at 3:30 p.m. on Monday to fill Cockerham’s seat.

Cockerham vacated the seat after notification from the District Attorney’s Office that he needed to step down because he no longer lives in District 7.

A former Lafayette Parish schools administrator filed the complaint with the DA’s Office that challenged Cockerham’s residency status based on the address he submitted when he qualified for the Nov. 4 election. The address he gave is in District 7 on new redistricting maps that take effect in January, so he’s qualified to run. However, the address is currently in District 9 based on maps still in effect for the remainder of his term.

Cockerham resigned from the seat effective Oct. 16, and the board has until Nov. 6 to appoint his replacement.

In the past, the board hasn’t always agreed to appoint an outgoing member’s choice for his replacement.

In 2008, the board didn’t take into consideration former board member Rickey Hardy’s recommendation of Shelton Cobb as a temporary appointment following Hardy’s election to the state House of Representatives.

Cobb won the seat in a special election that followed and was re-elected without opposition in 2010. He now seeks re-election for District 3 with one challenger, Elroy Broussard, whom Cobb defeated in the 2008 special election for the seat.

Follow Marsha Sills on Twitter, @Marsha_Sills.