A renewal of a 10-mill property tax could go before Vermilion Parish voters in May.

The Vermilion Parish School Board will consider placing the renewal of the existing millage on the May 2 ballot at its meeting Thursday.

“Initially approved in 1996, it’s dedicated to three sources: the purchase of buses, the purchase of technology and textbooks, and roof and air conditioning,” said Phillip Sellers, Vermilion Parish Schools chief financial officer. “This is merely a renewal of an existing millage. This is not a new tax.”

The tax generates about $3 million for school operations, and the loss of revenue would be felt in the district’s budget, Sellers said.

“This is a huge support to the operations of our school system,” Sellers said.

Thursday’s meeting is the first of the 2015 School Board, which welcomes three new members who won their elections in races against incumbents: Luddy Herpin, District A, who replaces “Skip” Gardiner; Laura Hebert LeBeouf, District C, who replaces Dexter Callahan; and Sara Bourgeois Duplechain, District G, who replaces Carroll “Bubba” LeBlanc. The five other members were re-elected to the board without opposition.

Two of the three new members are recently retired Vermilion Parish schools administrators: LeBeouf retired last year from the principal’s post at Kaplan High and Herpin’s retirement as principal of Gueydan High was effective Jan. 1.

Follow Marsha Sills on Twitter, @Marsha_Sills.