LAFAYETTE — Six of the 32 candidates who applied for the Lafayette Parish school superintendent job didn’t meet state certification requirements for the position, according to a university review of the applicants.

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette’s College of Education staff vetted the 32 applications for superintendent certification and submitted 26 names to the School Board late Tuesday.

The six applicants who didn’t meet the minimum certification requirements won’t be considered by the School Board, said Mark Allen Babineaux, board president on Wednesday.

The board plans to select only 10 people from the 26 applicants for interviews, tentatively scheduled Oct. 19-Oct. 28.

“We’ll see about getting these voted down to 10 as soon as we can,” Babineaux said. “We may be able to get a head start on the interviews. I don’t see a reason to delay.”

The board’s vote for the 10 candidates will likely come in a special board meeting, Babineaux said.

According to a timeline approved in July, the board plans to select a superintendent by Dec. 7.

Burnell Lemoine, current superintendent, plans to retire at the end of the year when his contract expires.

The 26 applicants who possessed the necessary certification are:

e_SBlt  Don Aguillard, of Centerville, St. Mary Parish school superintendent.

e_SBlt  Wayne Alexander, of Old Lyme, Conn., director and special education teacher for Hartford public schools.

e_SBlt  Herman Brister, of Port Allen, chief academic officer for East Baton Rouge Parish schools.

e_SBlt William E. Butler, of Pine Bluff, Ark., formerly interim science specialist at the Math and Science STEM Center.

e_SBlt Pat Cooper, of New Orleans, president and chief executive officer of the Early Childhood and Family Learning Foundation.

e_SBlt Craig A. Fiegel, of Novi, Mich., superintendent of Canton Community schools.

e_SBlt Walter Gonsoulin Jr., of Starkville, Miss., assistant superintendent of federal programs and operations for the Starkville School District.

e_SBlt Luis Gonzales, of Harrisburg, Pa., superintendent and chief executive officer of Central Dauphin School District in Harrisburg, Pa.

• Arthur D. Gottlieb, of Queensbury, N.Y., adjunct professor of biology at the College of St. Joseph in Rutland, Vt., and an adjunct professor of education at SUNY-Plattsburgh, Queensbury campus.

• Sheila Guidry, of Prairieville, executive director of the Louisiana Department of Education’s School Turnaround Office.

• Chanel Howard-Veazy, of Mesquite, Texas, principal of Fred Florence Middle School in Dallas.

• Gail Jackson-Mitchell, of Orangeburg, S.C., executive director of curriculum and instruction for Allendale County schools.

• Gary Jones, of Alexandria, superintendent of Rapides Parish schools.

• Katie Landry, of Lafayette, Lafayette Parish school system deputy superintendent of instructional services.

• Deidre Ledbetter, of New Iberia, Lafayette Parish school system special-education teacher.

• Charles S. Michel, of Metairie, special-education supervisor of Lafourche Parish schools.

• John Pate, of Lafayette, principal of Scott Middle School.

• Maria Pitre-Martin, of Holly Springs, N.C., North Carolina Department of Public Instruction director of curriculum and instruction.

• Karl Reichman, of Jackson, president and owner of SAGE Educational Consulting.

• Deborah J. Rives, of Avondale Estates, Ga., south region field service general manager for Pearson Inc.

• Ronald James Simmons, of Rochester, Minn., assistant principal at Century High School in Rochester.

• Richard Sloakner, of Elverson, Pa., math, business and technology education supervisor for Marple Newton School District in Newton Square, Pa.

• Camacia Smith-Ross, of New Orleans, consultant and author.

• Art Stellar, of Hingham, Mass., former superintendent of Burke County (N.C.) public schools.

• Maurice D. Ware, of Springfield, Mich., executive director of educational support services for Battle Creek public schools.

• Stanley S. Wooden, of Dallas, instructor at the School Community Guidance Center and instructional lead teacher at Skyline Evening School in Dallas.