As if making an improbable run to a second consecutive Class 5A state championship wasn’t enough, the Acadiana High Wreckin’ Rams saw two of their own claim two of the state’s top individual honors.

Acadiana’s Ted Davidson was voted Coach of the Year and defensive back Ronald Broussard was tabbed as the Outstanding Defensive Player for a second consecutive season on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State team.

Quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr., who led Zachary to its first semifinal appearance in decades, was voted the Outstanding Offensive Player on the team selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Davidson, who led the Rams to their sixth state championship-game appearance, helped Acadiana overcome four regular-season losses to win the school’s fourth state title. Ponchatoula’s Hank Tierney was also considered for the coaching honor.

Broussard, a 5-9 175-pound senior, continued to be a shutdown cornerback for the Rams defense. He ended his career as the school’s all-time leader in interceptions with 23.

Scott, who was the District 4-5A MVP, passed for 2,231 yards and 24 touchdowns, while rushing for 965 yards and 15 touchdowns en route to leading Zachary to the semifinals, where they lost to the Rams.

Broussard was one of three Rams players to earn all-state honors as Bry’kiethon Mouton was voted the tight end and Caden Cunningham was elected as one of five offensive linemen.

The remainder of the offensive all-state unit includes receivers Stanley Morgan of St. Augustine and Jesuit’s Kalija Lipscomb. The other offensive linemen were Ryan Hanley of Rummel, Pineville’s Cody Ford, Jesuit’s Jeff White, West Monroe’s Logan Currington.

Catholic High-Baton Rouge’s Derrius Guice, Shaw’s Trey Ragas, Destrehan’s Will Matthews were picked as the running backs. Kicker Jack Gonsoulin of Catholic and athlete Christian Campbell, Ponchatoula’s quarterback, compete the offense.

Isaiah Buggs of Ruston, Rummel’s Briston Guidry, Thibodaux’s Marquis Garman, Barbe’s Chris Livings were the defensive linemen selected. The linebackers picked were Dwaine Thomas of Hahnville, Byrd’s Krishun Cash, Mandeville’s Matthew Scanlon and Sam Houston’s Mason Knighton.

Kristian Fulton of Rummel, Brother Martin’s Roderic Teamer and Byrd’s Jawun Jiles were picked as defensive backs.

Punter Aaron Malik of Ponchatoula and return specialist Kirklan Banks of Barbe rounded out the defense.