The Northside Christian duo of senior Madison Clement and Zoie Hanagriff was named to the Class C All-State softball team selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, while their teammates, Zera Hanagriff and Leah Monte, were honorable mention choices.

Clement was 17-0, while Zoie Hanagriff batted .420.

Hackberry won the Class C state softball title for the fourth straight year. And for the first time since 2001, Elizabeth reigned supreme on the baseball diamond.

Those two reigns now have led to two others. Hackberry and Elizabeth highlight the Class C All-State baseball and softball teams.

Rolling to a 26-4 season, Elizabeth rallied behind the exploits Outstanding Player award winner Colby Lafauci. The senior finished 13-2 on the mound and batted .441.

Junior Brianne Beard was the driving force for Hackberry in a similar way. She recorded a 16-2 mark on the mound and batted .370 to pick up Outstanding Player honors on the LSWA Class C softball squad.

Downsville Charter’s Wayne Johnson was selected as the Coach of the Year in baseball after leading his team to the LHSAA state tournament, while finishing with just four losses.

St. Joseph’s-Plaucheville’s Ken Knight earned Coach of the Year honors in softball. Knight missed a couple of games after a medical procedure before leading the Eagles to the Class C state championship game and a 22-5 record.

The LSWA teams are selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Lafauci was joined by three teammates — sophomore Ty Morgan (.404), senior Andre Bedel (.464) and freshman Chance Gordon (.379) — on the baseball squad.

Rounding out the baseball squad were Ebarb senior Sam Brandon (.562); Reeves senior Travis Schultz (7-3, 2.62 ERA); Georgetown senior Caleb Lasyone (.391, 21 stolen bases); the Claiborne Christian trio of senior Wesley Drake (10-3, .571), sophomore Griffith Olinde (.500) and junior Andrew Holmes (.441); the Downsville Charter combo of junior Seth Powell (.451), senior Dillon Ridgway (.553) and junior Nick Clark (.505); Summerfield junior Jake Foster (.340, 27 RBIs); and the Family Christian senior duo of Mike Hopkins (.519) and Mason Diaz (.562).

Beard had a trio of her Hackberry teammates join her on the squad: senior Sydney Broussard (.400), freshman Gracie Devall (.368) and junior Abby Trahan (.361).

Three players from St. Joseph’s — juniors Tiffany Knight (.551) and Elizabeth Link (.439), along with sophomore pitcher Macey Firmin (22-5) — were named to the softball team.

Starks’ senior trio of Wendy Gillet (.592), Destiny Grimshaw (.492) and Jade Berry (.439); Calvin senior Jancee Lashley (13-5); Plainview eighth-grader Madison Pippen (10-5); Georgetown junior Kandis Truelove (.450); and Claiborne Christian eighth-grader Kaylon Cory (.422) complete the softball squad.