Jennings running back Travis Etienne selected Class 3A Offensive MVP _lowres

Advocate Photo by BRAD KEMP Northside defensive player Devontai Willon tries to bring down Jennings runner Travis Etienne(8) during the 64th Acadiana Area Football Kiwanis Jamboree Friday, Aug. 28, 2015 at Cajun Field in Lafayette, La.

Jennings running back Travis Etienne claimed the Offensive MVP award on the Class Louisiana Sportswriters Association Class 3A All-State team.

The 5-foot-11, 195-pound Etienne rushed for 2,952 yards with 43 touchdowns and added 251 receiving yards with three TDs. He had four return scores and finished with 50 TDs.

Lutcher junior quarterback Jontre Kirklin was also nominated for the honor.

Etienne claimed the honor, while players from Lutcher and St. James took home other top honors on the LSWA team.

Lutcher and St. James met for the the Class 3A nonselect state football title in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome earlier this month.

Lutcher (14-1) came away with a 41-14 victory for the school’s seventh state title, while St. James (11-4) got its fifth runner-up finish.

Lutcher senior defensive lineman Sully Laiche is the Defensive MVP, while third-year St. James coach Dwain Jenkins is the Coach of the Year.

Laiche (6-2, 255), a three-time district defensive MVP and a three-time all-state player, racked up 108 tackles with 73 solo, 31 tackles for loss, 11 sacks, four forced fumbles and a fumble recovery in the regular season. He continued his dominating play in the postseason. University High junior linebacker Dylan Moses was also nominated.

Jenkins took a program that was 0-19 from 2011-12 to the 2A quarterfinals the past two seasons and the 3A finals this year despite losing junior Lowell Narcisse, a top quarterback recruit and a 2017 Auburn commitment, for the regular season with a torn ACL suffered last spring.

The Wildcats overcame other injuries. Jenkins, a former Lutcher player and assistant, used 23 different starters on offense, including 10 on the offensive line.

Other nominees for 3A Coach of the Year included Jay Mayet of Division II select champion Parkview Baptist, Jim Hightower of Division II runner-up St. Thomas More and Jay Roark of Jena.

Joining Etienne as first-team running backs are senior Chris Lee (2,115 yards and 29 TDs) of Northwest and senior Devin White (1,650 yards and 31 TDs) of North Webster.

The quarterback is Kirklin (165-of-277 for 2,257 yards, 35 TDs, nine INTs, 176 carries for 1,081 yards and 17 TDs). He was the title game Most Outstanding Player for the Bulldogs after throwing for three touchdowns and running for two.

The first-team wide receivers are Iowa junior Andre Sam (90 catches, 1,412 yards, 16 TDs), Amite junior Devonta Smith (over 900 yards, 13 TDs) and Lutcher junior Al’Dontre Davis (60 catches, 880 yards, 14 TDs).

The first-team offensive line features Parkview Baptist senior Trent Harrington (5-8, 255), University junior Adrian Ealy (6-6, 275), South Beauregard senior Curtis Cox (5-10, 275), West Feliciana senior Noah Pace (6-3, 250) and Marksville senior Carl Wilmer (6-3, 250).

At athlete is Marksville junior Laquarron Mingo, a quarterback who had 3,046 total yards and 34 touchdowns.

The kicker is St. Louis senior Michael Mack, who made 8-of-10 field goals with a long of 51 yards, 32-of-34 extra points and had 30 touchbacks.

Joining Laiche on the first-team defensive line are St. Louis junior Sam Brucchaus (87 tackles, 24 for losses, 8.5 sacks, two blocked kicks, forced fumble), Kaplan senior Jaise Meche (6-0, 235) and Amite freshman Ishmael Sopsher (6-3, 290).

The four linebackers on the first team include Wossman senior Charles Ellis (123 tackles, 60 solo, six sacks, interception return TD), Moses (104 tackles, eight tackles for loss, two sacks, two forced fumbles), St. James senior Aquindas Steib (84 tackles, 28 assists, 14 tackles for loss, six sacks, two interceptions, two defensive TDs) and Lutcher senior Ben St. Pierre (122 tackles, 66 solo, 10 tackles for loss, four interceptions, two sacks and two fumble recoveries).

Eunice senior Travis Godfrey (6-3, 215), St. James senior Jai Lewis (58 tackles, 23 assists, nine tackles for loss, nine sacks, two interceptions and two fumble recoveries), Parkview Baptist junior Trent Kavanaugh (85 tackles, two tackles for loss, two fumble recoveries) and Amite senior Joshua Perry (6-3, 190) are the defensive backs.

Iowa sophomore Cole Fleming is the kick-returner. He had two kick returns for TDs.

The punter is Union Parish senior Chase Spatafora (38.9 yard average, 11 punts inside the 20-yard line, long of 60 yards).