Free-throw shooting dooms Breaux Bridge in regional playoff loss to Fair Park _lowres

Advocate Photo by BRAD KEMP Breaux Bridge's Ignatius Patt shoots over Fair Park's Ladarrius Lister, left, and Donnie Perkins in a Class 4A regional-round playoff game Wednesday at Breaux Bridge.

First, University High’s Jalen Johnson and Jewel Sumner’s Bre’Ashlee Jones led their schools to state titles. Now the senior duo headlines the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A all-state basketball teams.

Johnson was voted the Outstanding Player on the boys squad after grabbing the spotlight with some eye-popping numbers. He averaged 21.8 points, 8.3 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game to help the Cubs win their third consecutive Class 3A state title.

Jones was selected as the Outstanding Player on the girls squad after leading the Cowgirls to their first state title in girls basketball. She averaged 14.7 points, 6.6 rebounds, 6.2 assists and 3.4 steals per game.

Cara Corkern of Sumner and Casey Jones of boys runner-up Wossman received Coach of the Year honors from a panel of sportswriters across the state.

After losing in the semifinals in 2015, Corkern’s Sumner girls team finished 35-0. Jones, who previously coached at Ouachita, led fourth-seeded Wossman (35-9) to a boys runner-up finish, upsetting top-seeded Peabody in the semifinals.

The teams feature several Acadiana-area players who earned honorable mention recognition.

On the boys team, Blake Turner of North Vermilion, Dwayne Levi of Jennings, Kevin Williams of Eunice, Ignatius Patt of Breaux Bridge and Nehemiah Augustus of Patterson were selected.

On the girls team, Gabby Harrington of Erath; Quanta Jones of Franklin, DeShea Vigers of Eunice and Monette Bolden of Erath were honorable mention choices.

Two other players tied to the title game — U-High’s Wayde Sims and Jones’ son, C.J. Jones Jr. — also made the boys first team.

Sims averaged 21.2 points, 9.6 rebounds and contributed 2.2 assists per game for UHS. Jones averaged 23.3 points, 7.2 assists and 4.0 rebounds for Wossman.

Jacoby Ross of Peabody and Larry Owens of Carroll complete the boys first team. Owens averaged 21 points and 15 rebounds a game, while Ross averaged 23 points, 4.5 rebounds and 3.3 assists.

The girls first team also includes two other players who played key roles in the title game. Jones’ Jewel Sumner teammate Diamond Brooks averaged 18.5 points and 7.7 rebounds per game. Skyler Goodwin of runner-up Parkview Baptist averaged 25 points, 10 rebounds and 6.0 assists.

Loyola’s Amber Smith and University’s Kaila Anderson also made the girls first team. Smith averaged 21.9 points and 9.2 rebounds. Anderson had averages of 11.3 points, 9.1 assists and 4.4 rebounds.

Peabody’s Cedric Russell (23.0 points per game) and Kevin Norman (17.0 ppg), St. Louis Catholic’s P.J. Hardy (22.3 ppg), Patterson’s Taylan Grogan (16.1 ppg) and Jonathan Bell of Green Oaks (21.7 ppg) made the boys second team.

The girls second team includes University’s Destiny Ephrom (19.3 ppg), Iota’s Whitney Landry (14.0 ppg), Westlake’s Jaden Towner (17 ppg), Sumner’s Kiara Williams (11 ppg) and E.D. White’s Michae Jones (18.2 ppg).