Report: Sun Belt becomes last FBS conference to adopt championship game _lowres

Advocate Photo by BRAD KEMP -- Louisiana-Lafayette Ragin Cajuns linebacker Tre'maine Lightfoot (4) and defensive back Savion Brown (6) tackle Appalachian State Mountaineers wide receiver Shaedon Meadors during their game Nov. 28, 2015, at Kidd Brewer Stadium in Boone, N.C.

LAFAYETTE — The Sun Belt Conference will finally join the fray and become the last FBS conference to hold a conference championship game, according to an ESPN report.

The league will hold a media teleconference at 1 p.m. Wednesday, presumably to announce the news about the title game.

Brett McMurphy of ESPN tweeted from his verified account, @McMurphyESPN, that sources told him the league is expected to begin holding a championship game in 2018.

The Sun Belt had been one of two FBS conferences not to hold a championship game, but the Big 12 announced last week it would be holding a championship game in the 2017 season.

This is an expected move for the conference after the NCAA voted in January to deregulate conference championship games.

Previously, a conference needed 12 teams in order to hold a title game.

Earlier this year, the Sun Belt announced it would not renew the contracts of football-only members Idaho and New Mexico State and would be adding Coastal Carolina as an all-sports member for the 2017 athletic season, bringing the league membership to 12 teams, 10 of which play football.