LAFAYETTE – Louisiana-Lafayette junior running back Elijah McGuire was one of 44 players to be named to the Paul Hornung Award watch list Monday.

The award is given annually to “recognize and reward versatile, high-level performers in major college football,” according to the award’s website.

McGuire was named the Sun Belt Player of the Year after his sophomore campaign when he totaled 1,732 yards from scrimmage and accounted for 16 touchdowns.

Despite splitting carries with Alonzo Harris and getting just under 13 carries per game, McGuire rushed for 1,264 yards last season, the third-highest single-season total in Cajuns history.

He also played an integral role in the passing game after star receiver Jamal Robinson was lost for the season with an injury, leading the team with 45 catches and finishing just three yards shy of leading the team in receiving yards with 468.

McGuire’s signature game came in a nationally televised contest against Arkansas State, when he ran for 265 yards and four touchdowns.

UL-Monroe’s Rashon Ceaser and New Mexico State’s Teldrick Morgan joined McGuire as SBC representatives on the watch list. The Pac-12 led all conferences with eight players on the watch list.

LSU’s Leonard Fournette and Louisiana Tech’s Carlos Henderson rounded out the Louisiana collegians on the list.

According to the award’s news release, the players on the watch list accounted for 9,606 rushing yards, 16,565 receiving yards and more than 22,000 return yards last season.

Shaq Thompson won the award last year after rushing for 456 yards and two touchdowns while also tallying 80 tackles and four defensive touchdowns for Washington.