Cajuns’ Hall of Fame welcomes four new inductees: Michael Allen, Steven Feehan, Jill Robertson, Matt Trevino _lowres

Advocate file photo by ARTHUR D. LAUCK -- UL-Lafayette's Steven Feehan lays down a bunt in the ninth inning of a 2005 College World Series game against Clemson. An error by Clemson's Ryan Mottl allowed Rick Haydel to score the winning run.

Two of them led their teams to the College World Series. The other two were the leaders of squads that won Sun Belt Conference championships and went on to NCAA tournaments.

Now, the foursome of Louisiana-Lafayette standouts will receive the university’s highest athletic honor when basketball’s Michael Allen, baseball’s Steven Feehan, softball’s Jill Robertson and golf’s Matt Trevino are enshrined in UL-Lafayette’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

The four will be inducted Saturday during halftime of the Ragin’ Cajuns’ 4 p.m. homecoming football game against South Alabama. They will also be guests at the Hall of Fame’s annual meet-and-greet reception from 6:30-8:30 p.m. Friday at the UL-Lafayette Alumni Center and at the 10 a.m. Saturday homecoming parade. Cajun fans can meet the new Hall of Famers at the alumni tent adjacent to Cajun Field Gate A before Saturday’s game.

Tiffany Harris, Hall of Fame chairman for the Ragin’ Cajuns Letterman Club and a former softball All-American and 2007 Hall of Fame inductee, said athletic ability is only part of the criteria for selection.

“We want to recognize athletes who have made a significant contribution to the good name of the university,” Harris said. “One of our most important criteria is that after leaving the university, our inductees have established a personal reputation for character and citizenship in the community where they reside.”

A committee within the Lettermen Club selects Hall of Fame honorees annually. Sydney Grider (basketball), Andy Martin (football), Lynn Britton (softball) and Gene Bacque (baseball) were the 2013 honorees. The 2012 selections included NFL All-Pro Charles “Peanut” Tillman of the Chicago Bears, last year’s Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award winner for his volunteer and charity work as well as on-field excellence.

“The goal is to remind each new generation of athletes of the ideals that they should strive for,” Lettermen Club President Tom Carroll said.

Allen was a three-year starter at guard from 1991-94 and ranks eighth on the career scoring list with 1,673 points. He was the Sun Belt’s Player of the Year as a senior when the Cajuns won the Sun Belt tournament and advanced to the NCAA Southeast Regional in St. Petersburg, Florida. Known for his long-range shooting, his 208 career 3-pointers rank fifth in school history.

Feehan played in more games (236) than any player in school history. He also holds school records for starts (219), at-bats (809), runs (201) and hits (250). He was one of the leaders of UL-Lafayette’s memorable 2000 College World Series run, when he was named to the All-CWS team. His steal of home and game-winning squeeze bunt against Clemson in Omaha, Nebraska, remains one of the seminal moments in the school’s athletic history.

Robertson also helped guide the softball team to the Women’s College World Series in 2003, two years after she was named the Sun Belt’s Freshman of the Year. A local product from Acadiana High, she hit .366 as a senior in 2005 and still ranks in the Cajuns’ all-time top five in career runs scored.

Trevino won All-Sun Belt honors three times during a four-year golf career that included a runner-up finish in the 1997 NCAA Regional Championships as a junior, the highest-ever regional finish for an individual. That year, UL-Lafayette won the Sun Belt team title for the second time, and it was Trevino’s final-hole birdie in the final group that gave the Cajuns a one-stroke victory.

A member of the Sun Belt’s All-Time Golf Team, he also won the Louisiana State Amateur title in 1996.