Terrance Broadway named to Manning Award Watch List _lowres

Advocate staff photo by PATRICK DENNIS -- UL-Lafayette quarterback Terrance Broadway scrambles in the first quarter of the New Orleans Bowl on Dec. 21 in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

NEW ORLEANS — Louisiana-Lafayette quarterback Terrance Broadway earned more national preseason honors Thursday when he was named to the 2014 Manning Award Watch List.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

The list includes 32 of the top quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2014 season. The winner will again be selected by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings, after the bowls.

“This is always a great time of year with college football ramping up once again,” Archie Manning said. “We have a very strong group of 32 quarterbacks on our Watch List this year and we’ve seen them all in action, but every year there are new guys who jump right in and become stars. That’s what makes college football such a wonderful sport – you never know what might happen once the teams get out on the field.”

Broadway, who was named last month to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, led Louisiana-Lafayette to a 9-4 record, the Sun Belt Conference championship and a third consecutive victory in the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl in 2013. Broadway threw for 2,419 yards and 19 touchdowns while finishing third on the team with 442 yards rushing and eight TDs.

He started 12 games for the Ragin’ Cajuns, injuring his throwing arm against ULM on Nov. 30 and missing the team’s regular-season finale at South Alabama one week later. He returned to action against Tulane in the New Orleans Bowl, completing 12 of 19 passes for 143 yards in a 24-21 victory before a bowl-record crowd of 54,728.

Entering his third year as a starter, Broadway ranks third in school history in passing touchdowns (36) and is fifth in both passing yards (5,261) and total offense (6,472).

Broadway and the Cajuns open the season Aug. 30 against Southern at Cajun Field.

Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Nov. 26. The winner will be announced Jan. 14.

This year’s Watch List includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Pac-12 leads the way with seven selections, followed by the Big Ten with five and the Big 12 with four. There are 18 seniors on the list while the junior class is represented by 10 quarterbacks. Rounding out the 32 are four sophomores, including Florida State’s Jameis Winston, who will look to be the first repeat winner of the honor. In addition to Winston, Oregon senior Marcus Mariota and Baylor senior Bryce Petty are returning finalists.

2014-15 Manning Award Watch List

Anthony Boone, Duke, Sr.; Terrance Broadway, UL-Lafayette, Sr.; Shane Carden, East Carolina, Sr.; Rakeem Cato, Marshall, Sr.; Connor Cook, Michigan State, Jr.; Cody Fajardo, Nevada, Sr.; Devin Gardner, Michigan, Sr.; Garrett Grayson, Colorado State, Sr.; Connor Halliday, Washington State Sr.; Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, Sr.; Taysom Hill, BYU, Jr.; Kevin Hogan, Stanford, Sr.; Brett Hundley, UCLA, Jr.; Matt Johnson, Bowling Green, Jr.; Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Sr.; Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, Sr.; Cody Kessler, USC, Jr.; Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, So.; Sean Mannion, Oregon State, Sr.; Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Jr.; Nick Marshall, Auburn, Sr.; Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Sr.; Bryce Petty, Baylor, Sr.; Dak Prescott, Mississippi State, Jr.; Keenan Reynolds, Navy, Jr.; Jake Rudock, Iowa, Jr.; Nate Sudfeld, Indiana, Jr.; P.J. Walker, Temple, So.; Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, Sr.; Jake Waters, Kansas State, Sr.; Davis Webb, Texas Tech, So.; Jameis Winston, Florida State, So.