Tulane’s Rod Walker, Curtis Johnson on morning show

Former Tulane team captain and recent New Orleans Saints free agent signee, Devon Walker, and Green Wave football coach Curtis Johnson will appear on ABC’s “Good Morning America” at 7:47 a.m. Friday from GMA’s Times Square studios in New York.

GMA host Robin Roberts will interview Johnson and Walker during a 3-minute segment.

In the second game of his senior season on Sept. 8, 2012, at Tulsa, Walker suffered a career-ending spinal injury when he collided with a teammate while attempting to make a tackle just seconds before halftime. Walker injured his C3 and C4 vertebrae, which left him paralyzed from the neck down.

Landon Donovan among cuts on World Cup roster

STANFORD, California — Leading scorer Landon Donovan is among seven players cut as the U.S. announced its 23-man World Cup squad.

Bidding to make his fourth World Cup, Donovan was bypassed on Thursday by U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann in favor of Aron Johannsson and Chris Wondolowski, who joined Jozy Altidore and Clint Dempsey as the forwards.

Also cut were defenders Brad Evans, Clarence Goodson and Michael Parkhurst; midfielders Joe Corona and Maurice Edu; and forward Terrence Boyd.

Michael Carter-Williams heads NBA all-rookie team

NEW YORK — Michael Carter-Williams has been unanimously chosen to the NBA’s all-rookie team.

Chosen 11th overall in the draft, the Philadelphia 76ers guard was the only unanimous selection to the first team, which also includes Orlando’s Victor Oladipo, Utah’s Trey Burke, Brooklyn’s Mason Plumlee and New York’s Tim Hardaway Jr.

The voting was done by 125 writers and broadcasters in the United States and Canada. Carter-Williams averaged 16.7 points, 6.3 assists and 6.2 rebounds, joining Oscar Robertson and Magic Johnson as the only rookies in NBA history to average at least 16.0 points, 6.0 rebounds and 6.0 assists.

The second team was Boston’s Kelly Olynyk, Milwaukee’s Giannis Antetokounmpo, Minnesota’s Gorgui Dieng, Charlotte’s Cody Zeller and Oklahoma City’s Steven Adams.

Xavier’s Rolland earns All-American honor

GULF SHORES, Ala. — Xavier’s Devinn Rolland long-jumped 18 feet, 7 inches Thursday to earn All-America honors for the second time in three years at the NAIA Outdoor Track & Field National Championships.

Rolland, competing in her third event of the day, placed fourth. The top six individuals and relay teams in each event are named All-America.

Rolland is a junior and a graduate of Cabrini.

50 senators to NFL: Change Redskins’ name

WASHINGTON — Half of the U.S. Senate says it’s time to change the name of the Washington Redskins.

Forty-nine Democratic senators wrote NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell on Thursday. They say racism and bigotry do not belong in professional sports. The lawmakers say the NBA set a good example by banning L.A. Clippers owner Donald Sterling for life after he was recorded making racist comments about blacks.

The senators’ letter never actually mentions the word “Redskins.” But it says the team name is nothing short of a racial slur.

Florida Democratic Sen. Bill Nelson wrote his own letter to Goodell requesting the change. Redskins owner Daniel Snyder has long refused to change the team’s name.

Compiled from news releases and The Associated Press.

LSU golfers set for NCAA Championships

The 16th-ranked LSU men’s golf team is set to make its return to the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships this weekend in the finale of the 2014 spring season as the Tigers will tee off as the No. 15 seed in the 30-team field in Friday’s first round of stroke play at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas.

LSU’s trio of senior Smylie Kaufman, junior Stewart Jolly and junior Curtis Thompson were each named by the Golf Coaches Association of America to the PING All-Southeast Region Team.

Compiled from news releases.

LSU Eunice softball players honored

Seven LSU Eunice softball players were named to the NJCAA All-Region 23 Team following a season that was capped off with the program’s third NJCAA National Championship last weekend.

Sophomores Carey Alexis, Brooklynn Clark, Codi Covington and Emily Nolan, along with freshmen Taylor Boulet, Raven Cole and Destin Vicknair, were named to the team.