The Louisiana State Police will increase the number of troopers on patrol during the holiday weekend and will focus on laws requiring seatbelts and child restraints, according to the State Police.
Louisiana law requires that all occupants be properly restrained regardless of their age or where they’re sitting in the car. While not all crashes are avoidable, seatbelts can greatly improve the survivability of crashes, State Police said.
In 2010, 58 percent of Louisiana drivers killed were not wearing a seatbelt and 65 percent of Louisiana passengers, ages 5 and older that were killed were not wearing a seatbelt, according to State Police.
Troopers will also focus on aggressive and impaired drivers.
Drivers can report unsafe or impaired drivers to the nearest State Police troop by dialing *577 (*LSP) from a cell phone or by calling the local law enforcement agency.