New Orleans — Unofficial election results Wednesday appeared to confirm that the races for two City Council seats will head to a runoff next month.

LaToya Cantrell and Dana Kaplan will face each other in the race for District B. Austin Badon and James Gray will battle for District E. The runoff is scheduled for Dec. 8.

Voter turnout for the District B race totaled 24,285, or 46 percent of registered voters, according to the Louisiana Secretary of State.

Cantrell captured 9,465 of those votes, or 39 percent of the ballots cast. Kaplan, meanwhile, clinched 7,511 votes, or 31 percent of the ballots.

“We’re excited to be in the runoff and dealing with the issues and what do the candidates bring to the office in terms of experience and concrete results,” said David Winkler-Schmit, a Cantrell spokesman.

Danae Columbus, a Kaplan spokeswoman, said Kaplan was already back to campaigning Wednesday in an effort to secure the votes of her former contenders’ supporters.

Those former contenders were Eric Strachan, who earned 24 percent of the total with 5,921 votes, and Marlon Horton, who earned 5 percent of the vote with 1,388 ballots.

While more than 50 percent of voters cast ballots for the District E seat, no one candidate could secure more than 50 percent of the vote to claim victory.

Secretary of State records show 22,737 people — 55 percent of registered voters — turned out to vote for the seat.

Badon came close to winning the spot with 10,800 votes, which equaled 47 percent of ballots. Gray came in second with 6,712 votes, which totaled 30 percent of the vote.

Cheron Brylski, a Badon campaign spokeswoman, said Badon was not available for comment Wednesday. Gray did not a return a message seeking comment.

The remainder of the field was a tight race among Dana Henry, Jerrelda Drummer Sanders and Mary Fontenot Smith.

Henry got 9 percent with 2,100 votes, Sanders took 8 percent of the vote with 1,801 ballots cast and Smith rounded out the group with 1,324 ballots, or 6 percent of the vote.

The District B seat, which represents parts of Uptown, Broadmoor, Central City, the Central Business District and Mid-City, opened after Stacy Head was elected to an at-large spot. She replaced former Councilman Arnie Fielkow who resigned his spot to take a job with the National Basketball Retired Players Association.

The District E seat opened unexpectedly this summer when Jon Johnson, a former state senator and representative who was elected to the spot in March 2010, pleaded guilty to federal corruption charges and resigned from the council the same day.

In other Orleans Parish elections, voters elected Tracey Flemings Davillier to the Criminal District Court bench over Glen A Woods. Davillier, a juvenile court judge, captured 72 percent of the vote, or 89,729 votes to Woods’ 34,449 in a race that drew 49.6 percent of the vote.

Challenger Sandra Cabrina Jenkins ousted incumbent Charles R. Jones for a seat on the 4th Circuit Court of Appeal, 1st District Division H. She received 58 percent of the vote, or 70,951, to Jones’ 51,990 votes in a race that drew 49 percent of eligible voters.

In 2nd City Court, Kiana Aaron-Mitchell and E. “Teena’’ Anderson-Trahan are headed to a runoff with 35 percent and 25 percent of the vote respectively. Aaron-Mitchell received 6,774 votes to Anderson-Trahan’s 4,957. Martin L. “Marty’’ Broussard Jr. received 23 percent of the vote, with Edward Markle getting 8 percent, Kim M. O’Dowd getting 5 percent and Marie Williams-Brigandi getting 3 percent in the crowded field to replace retiring Judge Mary “KK” Norman. That race drew 58 percent of registered voters.

Darren Lombard won the race for clerk of 2nd City Court with 52 percent of the vote, or 9,070 votes. Adam Lambert received 5,297 votes, or 30 percent and Van Howenstine received 3,047 votes or 18 percent.Edwin Shorty Jr. bested Ennis Grundmeyer in a tight race for constable of 2nd City Court, with 8,666 votes to 8,480, a difference of 50.54 percent to 49.46 percent.

Orleans Parish voters also approved a 6.07 mill property tax for levee protection by 61 percent, with 65,502 voting yes and 41,313 voting no. A 20-mill property tax for the New Orleans Region Business Park failed by 51 percent with 62,275 voting no and 58,628 voting yes.

A home rule charter amendment that will require at-large candidates to declare which of two seats they are seeking rather than having the entire slate of candidates run in one field, passed by 68 percent of the vote, with 82,032 voting yes and 38,434 voting no.