Resolutions topic for Preceptor Beta Epsilon

Ethel Taylor spoke about the success rate and origins of New Year’s resolutions when Preceptor Beta Epsilon Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi met Jan. 7 at Taylor’s home. A 2007 University of Bristol study of 3,000 people showed that 88 percent failed to keep their resolutions. The Babylonians and Romans were among the ancient people who had resolution traditions.

President Sandy Linder reminded members of the Beta Sigma Chi International Convention to take place Aug. 4-7, 2016. Donna Hoglen and Bonnie Wolf were guests.

Service Committee Chairwoman Marilyn Mayeux said 21 handmade fleece jackets were delivered to the Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center Children’s Ward on Dec. 23, and toys were donated to the Toys for Tots campaign.

Social Committee Chairwoman Leslie Steele said chapter Sweetheart Anna Marie Burns will be honored at a Jan. 25 luncheon at Houmas House Plantation.

Kennel Club announces new slate of officers

Baton Rouge Kennel Club officers for 2015 are President Terri Gallegos, Vice President Chris Reed, Secretary Leslie Norton and Treasurer Roberta Avery. Board members are Katie Coleman, Holly Reed, Diane Sylvester, Janet Wheeler and Miranda Young.

The club’s fifth annual Mardi Gras Cluster dog show will be held Jan. 22-25 at the Riverfront Convention Center, 707 Main St., Alexandria. The show will be held in conjunction with the Alexandria Kennel Club.

For information, to online to or call Carl Grotton, (225) 927-9777. Meetings are at 7 p.m. the third Monday of each month at the EBR Main Library, 7711 Goodwood Blvd., Baton Rouge, in the second floor conference room.

Glen Oaks student to attend medical event

Latrice Warr, a 10th-grader in the medical magnet program at Glen Oaks High School, has been nominated to attend the Congress of Future Medical Leaders June 24-26 in Boston, Massachusetts.

The congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of this event is to honor, inspire, motivate and direct students who aspire to be physicians or medical scientists.

Warr was nominated by Dr. Connie Mariano, medical director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists, based on academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in medicine.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.