The National Merit Scholarship Corp., an independent nonprofit scholarship organization based in Evanston, Ill., has released its list of 2012 National Merit semifinalists.

Listed below are area students included on that list.

A list of 2012 National Achievement semifinalists will be coming soon.

Students were selected based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test.

As usual, The Advocate plans to recognize these students in the future with pages including their photos, college choices, intended majors and parents, to the extent the information is available.

The newspaper will be contacting campuses soon. The parents of home-schooled semifinalists should contact the paper if they want their child’s photo and information included. Email

National Merit semifinalists:

e_SBlt Baton Rouge Magnet High School — Nicholas P. de Godoy Lopes, Mark F. Ditusa, Damon A. Doucet, Tyler S. Fox, Makaley F. Heughan, Ryan J. Lachney, Kalle W. Liimatta, Jasmine Miller, Alyssa N. Moore, Steven Olsen, Thomas B. Ray, Meghan K. St. Cyr, Joseph A. Villa, Yihui Yan, David Zhang.

e_SBlt Catholic High School — Daniel P. Babin, Ethan J. Beaman, Jacob D. Bowers, Stephen T. Crosby, Tyler J. Daigrepont, Warner J. Delaune, Joshua D. Edwards, Daniel J. Gates, Samuel L. Justice, Kurt D. Ristroph, Benjamin P. Wiseman.

e_SBlt Christian Life Academy — Ashley E. Minvielle.

e_SBlt Episcopal High School — Abigail E. Burcham, Robert N. Courter, Brad M. Hebert, Leah A. Kahler, Will Kemp, Charity L. Kennedy, Madison E. McMurray, William H. Patrick, Adelaide E. Ritter.

e_SBlt McKinley High School — William M. Cassidy.

e_SBlt Parkview Baptist High School — Michael A. Baker.

e_SBlt Runnels High School — Gabriella C. Runnels.

e_SBlt St. Joseph’s Academy — Morgan E. Clement, Morgan L. DeCuir, Abigail J. Gaudin, Rachel M. Marsh, Caroline T. Morganti, Kristina L. Sherburne, Stephanie M. Toups.

e_SBlt St. Michael the Archangel High School — Megan N. Olsen.

e_SBlt University Laboratory School — Aaron J. Bennett, Anna N. Reed.

e_SBlt St. Paul’s School, Covington — Andrew P. Mullet, Shawn-Wesley Skinner.

e_SBlt East Ascension High School, Gonzales — Myles R. McMurchy.

e_SBlt Carencro High School, Lafayette — Allison N. Gerard.

e_SBlt Lafayette High School — William C. Matthews.

e_SBlt St. Thomas More Catholic High School, Lafayette — Luke T. Osborn, James M. Whipple, Leah C. Wyatt.

e_SBlt Teurlings Catholic High School, Lafayette — Jon P. Melancon.

e_SBlt Fontainebleau High School, Mandeville — Thomas O. Beckstrom, Kayleigh E. Voss, Arden A. Wells.

e_SBlt Mandeville High School — Matthew D. Ducote, Nushrah N. Malik.

e_SBlt Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts, Natchitoches — Allen J. Calmes, of Denham Springs; Felipe Hernandez of Baton Rouge.

e_SBlt St. Amant High School — Allen J. Hernandez.

• Home-schooled in Zachary — Samuel A. Sinquefield.

Local student gets role

A McKinley High School student will be featured in an upcoming theater production by the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts.

Jelani Pitcher, a senior at McKinley High, will be featured in the student production of Matthew Burnett’s “Theophilus North,” based on Thornton Wilder’s final work, at NOCCA’s Nims Blackbox Theatre, 2800 Chartres St., New Orleans.

Performances start at 7 p.m. Sept. 28-Oct. 1, with an additional 2 p.m. matinee on Oct. 1.

Tickets are available for $10 30 minutes before curtain or in advance at

YWCA accepts applicants

The YWCA’s SIHLE program, or Sisters Informing Healing Living and Empowering, will conduct a series of sessions aimed at increasing knowledge about HIV/AIDS and improving communications and decision-making among African-American teens.

The four, three-hour sessions are designed for African-American female teens ages 14-18, a press release said.

Teens will be accepted into the program through an application process.

For more information, contact Keshala Jackson, director of YWCA Youth & Teen Services, at (225) 383-0681, ext. 215, or e-mail

Submit youth news to or fax (225) 388-0351.