Three local students landed lead roles in their own movie after participating in the Motion Picture Film Camp held in June at Celtic Media Center.

The students, Ashleigh Martin, Brock Kaufman and Rain Catoire, all of Central, learned pre-production, script writing, story development and video recording on set and were tapped for the lead roles in the children’s Western “Little Town.”

Kaufman and Catoire will attend Central Middle School in the fall, while Martin attends Northwestern Middle School.

The film will premiere in August. Visit for more information.

Youth competes in event

Nicole Andorf recently competed at the 46th annual Pinto World Championship Horse Show in Tulsa, Okla., winning a Reserve Youth World Champion title in a halter class and placing top five in the world in another halter class.

Andorf rode Hoping For Eight and I’m Just Brooke, owned by Sue and Mike Hamilton.

Each June, the Pinto Horse Association of America Inc. hosts the world’s largest gathering of pinto horses, ponies and miniatures at the Built Ford Tough Livestock Complex in Tulsa.

The 12-day competition showcased talented equines and exhibitors in a wide array of disciplines including jumping, reining, driving, roping, pleasure and halter.

For more information about the 2011 Pinto World Championships Horse Show and a complete list of the show results, visit

Runnels scholars listed

A full 61 percent of the sixth-grade class at Runnels Elementary School qualified for the Presidential Award for Academic Excellence this year. The award is conferred upon students exiting grades six, eight and 12 who maintain a 3.5 grade-point average and score at or above the 85th percentile on standardized tests.

In addition, 47 percent of the eighth-grade class and 42 percent of the high school graduates also earned Presidential awards. High school seniors who qualify for the award are among the top 15 percent of the nation’s college-bound graduates.

Sixth grade: Regan Appleton, Joseph Armoney, Eve Axelrod, Kyndal Babin, Carly Breaux, Emily Britt, Joseph Buete, Ryan Cameron, Regan Dean, Nathan Fairley, Henry Forgey, Douglas Gulley, William Harrell, Ari Hoffman, Kristina Khalid-Abasi, Luc Kharey, Eva Kruger, Robert Law, Rose Law, Blair LeBleu, Samantha Litten, Emme McElveen, Jeehan Mikdadi, Andrew Mitchell, Heath Moser, Anthony Nikitopoulos, Olivia O’Halloran, Mark Postlethwait, Kadi Runnels, Savannah Sanders, Ross Stephens, Riley Stewart, Michael Stock, Nikhila Theegala, Theodore Todaro, Jack Tooraen, Ben Wahnschaffe, Brandon Walker, Stephen Watson, John Wiese, Stephanie Williams and Rachel Yura.

Eighth grade: Olivia Arboneaux, Ryan Baird, Marika Buchholz, Dillon Dodgen, Nabil Essajee, Morgan Evans, Joey Fairley, Griffin Gowdy, Catherine Haller, Aidan Heck, Madeline Inzenga, Vivian Ji, Lauren Kahn, Finn Kelley, Sadie Kraft, Sean LeBleu, Molly Litten, Caleb Manning, Connor Matthews, Max Morgan, Orlando Ocanto, Kara Peneguy, Katie Pousson, Kate Pruitt, Adel Rahman, Hayden Robert, Celeste Runnels, Jacqui Scalzo, David Segalla and Grant Welch.

Seniors: Jared Arceneaux, Talbert Barger, Danielle Brouillette, Cole Connelly, Jane Craig, Jayson Curry, Lamia Derzi, Emily Durham, Allison Fix, Chip Gaudet, Jessica Germany, Emily Gyan, Dylan Hammond, Victoria Hedrick, Jacob Jensen, Jordan Kumler, Shea Leger, Logan Leggett, Courtney Martin, Claire Morris, Nathaniel Nichols, David Pusateri, Laura Rack, Amanda Rushing, Sydney Saltamachia, Lauren Summers, Dylan Wilbur, Lily Winnett and Hannah Zachary.