Audubon DAR attends state conference

John James Audubon Chapter members attended the Louisiana Daughters of the American Revolution State Conference on March 15-17 at the Renaissance Hotel in Baton Rouge. Special guest was President General Ann Turner Dillon.

Chapter members attending included Regent Georgia LaCour, Sue Badeaux, Stella Tanoos, Glenda Carlile, Betty Jo Snellgrove, Essie Mongeau, Emily Wilbert, Paula Wilbert, Gloria Wilbert, Shirley Newsham, Denise Lindsly, Sue Ann Shore, Liz Walker, Yvonne Lewis Day, Lynda Normand, Sallie McKann, Mary McKeough, Cynthia Bohrer, Denise Malesic, Nola Labat, Amy Fontenot, Bridget May, Norma Gerace, Jean Hebert and Brenda Babin. Also attending were Margaret Tyler, state third vice regent; Carole Gloger, state parliamentarian; and Charlotte White, associate state treasurer. Holly Talley and Amelia Day were pages for the chapter.

Activities included a memorial service at St. Jude Catholic Church for members who died over the past year, including chapter members Minnie Mize, Geraldine Ryder and Iris LeJeune.

Former State Sen. Robert Adley spoke about volunteering. Graduates of the New Members and New Horizons programs were recognized, including chapter members Malesic and Tyler. The chapter received more than three dozen awards.

The March chapter meeting recognized Day as an “Outstanding Woman of American History.” American History Committee Co-Chairperson Jan Sauls outlined accomplishments Day has made in her lifetime related to American history. Day received an NSDAR certificate and DAR “Woman of American History." The hostesses for the meeting were Sue Blanchard, Kathy Brumfield, Liz Lucas and McKeough.

DAR membership is open to women 18 and older who can prove lineal, bloodline descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence. She must provide documentation for each statement of birth, marriage and death. Contact

Nine students named Good Citizens

Nine local high schools seniors received Good Citizens Awards from the Baton Rouge Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution on March 19 at the State Archives Building.

Good Citizen Award recipients are chosen by their high schools for showing outstanding qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism.

Receiving awards were Joshua Verret, Baton Rouge Magnet High School; Kristen LaMotte, Episcopal School of Baton Rouge; La’Daisha Pfister, Lee High School; Benjamin Stansell, Parkview Baptist School; Ashley Stansbury, Runnels High School; Vivian Brown, St. Joseph’s Academy; Grace Nizzo, St. Michael High School; Mary Brent Bankston, University High School; and Shane Harris, Woodlawn High School.

Bankston won first place in the chapter essay contest and received a $100 award. Her essay also took first place in the South Central Louisiana Division.

Cortana Kiwanis hears Cassidy

U.S. Sen. Bill Cassidy spoke March 29 to the Cortana Kiwanis Club.

Cassidy said the problem with the Affordable Care Act is that the costs are still too high. He said Congress is working on changes to publishing prices for medical care to enable people to shop for lower prices so competition might bring more providers into the market and will help lower costs.

Cassidy grew up in Baton Rouge and graduated from LSU Medical School. 

The Cortana Kiwanis Club meets at 7:30 a.m. Thursdays at the Piccadilly Cafeteria, 3332 S. Sherwood Blvd. Visitors are welcome to attend. Contact Lowell Tilley, or (225) 272-6744, for information.

LSU picks Plummer for SEC Faculty Award

LSU has selected Ward Plummer, Boyd professor of physics, as its honoree for the 2018 SEC Faculty Achievement Award.

The awards, now in their seventh year, honor one individual from each Southeastern Conference university who has excelled in teaching and research.

Plummer is special assistant to LSU’s vice president for research and economic development. He is a world‐renowned physicist, specializing in surfaces and interfaces phenomena, having completed his doctorate in physics at Cornell University. Plummer came to LSU in 2009 to lead the materials science program. He has received awards from national and international organizations.

Each SEC Faculty Achievement Award winner will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the SEC and will become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award.

Andrew receives lifetime achievement award

LSU College of Human Science & Education Dean Damon P.S. Andrew was presented with the 2018 Applied Sport Management Association, or ASMA, Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award at the organization’s annual conference in February.

The ASMA Scholar Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a career of continual and significant contributions to the field of sport management. Award recipients are specifically recognized for their efforts to make an impact on policies and practices in sport through research, teaching and service.

Andrew is the Dean E.B. “Ted” Robert Endowed Professor in the College of Human Sciences & Education. His specific research interests are leadership in sport; the attraction of sport to participants, spectators, sponsors, employees and stakeholders; and the effective integration of individuals with disabilities into the sporting environment.

OLOM Class of '58 sets 60-year reunion

Our Lady of Mercy School's first eighth-grade graduation class, the class of 1958, will hold a 60-year reunion at 3 p.m. Sunday, May 27, in the OLOM Activity Center. All class members and a guest are invited. For information, email

Tara High Class of '78 sets reunion

The Tara High School Class of 1978 will hold a 40-year reunion from 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. Saturday, June 23, at Stage One, 13456 S. Harrell's Ferry Road in Baton Rouge. The cost is $80 per person in advance. Please visit the class website at for more information.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.

Follow George Morris on Twitter, @GWMorris.