Marriage license information is available from any in-state parish Clerk of Court office. For a list of clerks of court in Louisiana, go to laclerksofcourt.org .
A license obtained in Louisiana can only be used in Louisiana. There is a 72-hour waiting period between issuance of a license and when the marriage can be performed. Licenses are valid for 30 days from the date of issuance.
The following are the legal requirements for obtaining a marriage license:
Fee for a marriage license is $27.50 and can be paid in cash, by credit card, cashier’s check or money order. Some offices require cash. Personal checks are not accepted.
You must be 18 to obtain a marriage license without parental consent.
While both parties need not be present, the applicant must bring the certified birth certificate for the absent party.
Both the bride and groom must have proof of age in the form of an original or certified birth certificate. Birth certificates can be obtained from the Vital Records Registry for the state in which you were born. In Louisiana, visit http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/649 The phone number is (504) 219-4500. In Baton Rouge, the Vital Records office is at 353 N. 12th St., (225) 242-4864. In Lafayette, it’s at the parish health unit, 220 W. Willow St., Building A, (337) 262-5616, ext. 139.
Each party must provide his or her parents’ full names, mother’s maiden name and the states in which parents were born.
Social Security numbers for both parties must be provided.
A couple applying for a marriage license has the option of a covenant marriage. To do so, the couple must have premarital counseling. For details on the Covenant Marriage Act, visit the website.