La. Cheer Force wins, to compete in Florida

Louisiana Cheer Force Teal from Baton Rouge is headed to Disney World to compete at The Summit on May 3. The team received an at-large bid to the Florida competition after winning the 2014 Cheersport National Champions in the Senior Large Coed 3 division, one of the largest National Cheerleading and Dance Championships, held Feb. 15-16 in Atlanta. The team is composed of boys and girls, ages 10-18.

The team’s appearance in The Summit will be televised on ESPN 3 at 1:08 p.m. on Saturday. If the team qualifies, they will compete again on Sunday, scheduled to be televised between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m., with awards presentation at 11 a.m. Only the top 10 percent of cheer teams in the country are invited to The Summit. The team is coached by Aubrey and Matt Larroquette and owned by Rachael Pearson.

BR DAR rededicates commemorative marker

The Baton Rouge Chapter DAR met April 21 to rededicate the chapter’s commemorative marker downtown.

The Baton Rouge Chapter placed and dedicated the marker in 1933 to commemorate the victory of Gen. Bernardo de Galvez’s victory over the British at Revolutionary War Battle of Baton Rouge. The marker was removed for downtown renovation in 2010. The marker was replaced in the original location on North Boulevard, in what is now known as North Boulevard Plaza.

Regent Lea Evans and Chaplain Louise Strong led the ceremony, and a wreath was placed at the marker.

Members had a lunch meeting at Capital City Grill after the ceremony. Members received information from the March State Conference and discussed upcoming projects.DAR membership is open to women at least 18 years old who can prove lineal, bloodline descent from an ancestor who aided in achieving American independence. Contact

Beta Sigma Phi honors 13 Women of the Year

The Beta Sigma Phi Baton Rouge City Council honored the Woman of the Year from its 13 chapter at its 83rd Founder’s Day banquet on April 24 at Ashley Manor. The local council includes chapters from Baton Rouge, Denham Springs and Gonzales.

Honored were Cheryl Foster, Iota Master; Kathy Lawrence, Kappa Psi; Nancy Campbell, Laureate Psi; Becky Pippin, Lambda Master; April Kurtz, Xi Delta Sigma; Charlene Ourso, Laureate Alpha Alpha; Judy Rossi, Lambda Alpha; Laura Faulkner, Preceptor Phi; Beth Scardina, Preceptor Alpha Eta; Pam Smith, Xi Alpha Theta; Sandy Linder, Laureate Alpha Gamma; and, posthumously, Sue Pearson, Xi Gamma.

Kim Couvillion of Lambda Alpha was Founder’s Day chair. Dixie Gregory of Laureate Alpha Gamma was co-chair, assisted by Casie Curtis of Xi Delta. Jean Leyda of Laureate Alpha Gamma chairs Beta Sigma Phi Week.

Farm Bureau honors two Valverda educators

Two teachers from Valverda Elementary School in Pointe Coupee Parish were selected as Farm Bureau’s “Ag in the Classroom” Teachers of the Year.

Catherine Olinde won the state honor. Her winning classroom lesson was on a plant’s life cycle. The school has kept a garden for many years and teachers use it for classroom learning and hands-on activities.

Jo Ann Hebert received the state honor last year and has been named one of five finalists for Farm Bureau’s “Ag in the Classroom” National Teacher of the Year. The life cycle of a chicken was her award winning national lesson plan. Her class observed incubated eggs hatch over a three-week period, wrote observations, studied scientific principles and practiced map skills. Hebert was named Pointe Coupee Parish Elementary Teacher of the Year last year.

Olinde and Hebert are members of Alpha Lambda Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Society Internationals. Hebert has been elected chapter president and Olinde second vice president.

5 in area win corporate Merit Scholarships

Five area students are among 11 from Louisiana named winners of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s 59th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. About 1,000 high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 200 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the company serves, or who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.

Area scholarship recipients are Catherine M. Albano, Baton Rouge, St. Michael The Archangel High School, Dow Chemical Company Scholarship; Michael Joseph Dejean, Baton Rouge, Catholic High School, BASF Corporation Scholarship; Susan Y. Liu, Baton Rouge Magnet High School, Formosa Plastics Corporation, U.S.A. Scholarship; Abigail L. Dowd, St. Francisville, Louisiana School For Math, Science and the Arts, Dr. Joseph J. Jacobs Scholarship; and Carla K. Dibbs, Lafayette, Episcopal School Of Acadiana, Citizen Watch Scholarship.

Most awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

Nicholson Post 38 honors Jackson, Lovett

Michael Jackson of the Baton Rouge Fire Department was awarded the Sixth District Fireman of the Year award and Abigail Lovett was honored as the Nicholson Post Oratorical Contest winner by American Legion Nicholson Post 38 on April 7.

Joseph Kreko, American Legion Louisiana Sixth District commander, presented the award to Jackson. Bill Aucoin, Nicholson Post vice commander, presented Lovette’s award.

Irving receives Clayton Engineering Award

Samuel O. Irving, of Baton Rouge, received the 2013-14 Clayton Engineering Excellence Award for Outstanding Graduate Students from the LSU College of Engineering.

The award is granted each year to a graduate student who exhibits extraordinary character, scholastic achievement and evident leadership in the College of Engineering. This award entails a stipend of $10,000 to the recipient and a $2,000 stipend to the student’s principal adviser.

Irving holds a 4.0 GPA while studying electrical engineering in the LSU Ph.D. program. Irving earned a bachelor’s degree in both electrical engineering and computer science from LSU. He is a graduate research assistant to Lu Peng in the LSU Division of Electrical and Computer Engineering, where he studies improving bandwidth usage and cache management.

Terrell graduates from Air Force basic training

Air Force Airman 1st Class Kayla M. Terrell graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.

Terrell is the daughter of Vanessa L. and Michael W. Terrell, of Baton Rouge, and is a 2011 graduate of McKinley High School.

Hausse graduates from Air Force basic training

Air National Guard Airman 1st Class Daniel M. Hausse graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Hausse is the son of Holly and Les Hausse, of Baton Rouge, and is a 2009 graduate of Catholic High School.

Follow this link to see the photos.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.