Preceptor Beta Epsilon taps Burns as chapter sweetheart

Anna Marie Burns was selected chapter sweetheart when Preceptor Beta Epsilon Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi met Sept. 3 at Ruth Mannen’s home. She will be presented at the annual Sweetheart Ball in February at the Gonzales Civic Center.

Marilyn Mayeux, the chapter’s City Council representative, assigned duties for the ball. Members made donations for the Mighty Moms organization, which provides weekend lunches for needy children.

Anne Smith led a program in which she gave an adjective to describe each member and asked everyone to name the one being described. Ethel Taylor was a guest.

Episcopal announces scholarship recipients

Episcopal School of Baton Rouge has named recipients of its merit scholarship programs.

Named Episcopal Scholars for the 2018 class are Shannon Ahmad, Morgan Bernhard, Sydney Veazie and Kaci Wilson. Their full scholarships are funded by the G. Allen Penniman Jr. family and other donors.

Chima Mbagwu, Kenneth Schafer, Sola Akinniyi, Zachary Holloway and Makenzie Daugherty have been named Lamar Scholars. Chloe Gardner and Scott Wicker, graduates of St. Luke’s Episcopal, have been awarded Newton Family Scholarships, established by Carl and Patty Newton. Gardner also received the Dr. and Mrs. Henry K. Miller Scholarship.

Mary Oliver has been named the Nanette Noland Scholar as part of a program that recognizes exceptional students involved in the Episcopal Church.

Terrell Haughton and Grant Grantham received the E.E. Ford Scholarship for academic achievement and strong citizenship at the school. Grantham, a son of an alumnus, received the Alumni Excellence Award.

Sara Huynh and Rachel Misher received the Waddell Family Scholarship, which recognizes strong character and spirit and commitment to academic success. Jacob DeWitt received the Bailey Family Scholarship, which recognizes an outstanding citizen with a record of academic achievement.

Baton Rouge student earns Etruscan Prize at Wilkes

Ahred Torrey, of Baton Rouge, received the Etruscan Prize at the Wilkes University graduate creative writing program’s closing banquet on June 20. He won for his poem, “Trophic Cascade.”

Miller graduates from Air Force basic military training

Air Force Airman Elliot J. Miller graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas. Miller is the son of Natalie G. Miller, of Baton Rouge.

Hankton completes Army basic combat training

Army Pvt. Cinnamon Hankton has graduated from basic combat training at Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C. Hankton is the granddaughter of Bertiel Watkins, of Baton Rouge, and is a 2014 graduate of Broadmoor High School.

Lutcher Class of 1989 to hold reunion on Nov. 15

The Lutcher High School Class of 1989 will hold a 25-year reunion 7-11 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 15, at Elegant Affairs in Gonzales. Cost is $55 per person and is due Sept. 18. Mail reservations to Michele Gilbert Poche, 5509 La. 44, Convent LA, 70723. Email questions to

Lee High Class of 1984 sets 30-year reunion for Oct. 11

The Lee High School Class of 1984 will hold a 30-year reunion starting at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 11, at Heads & Tails Seafood. Tickets can be purchased at

Kemp-Cambell descendents to hold reunion in Franklinton

A reunion for descendents of Bradford Kemp and Mary Drusilla Campbell, who were married in the late 18th century, will be held from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 18, at the Masonic Hall on Main Street in Franklinton.

Those attending are asked to bring a covered dish. Contact Cathy Holland, (225) 664-9968,; Russ Williams, (985) 372-9891; or Rawlin DeLaughter, (504) 577-1996.

Follow this link to the photos.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.