Friday, May 25, 2018

Dear Sam: I'm returning to Columbus after living in a small Southern town for several years, so I'm gearing up my resume and cover letters. One thing I’ve noticed is that companies occasionally ask for salary history and/or salary requirements. I'…

Sunday, May 06, 2018

Dear Sam: I think my resume is boring! The page just looks like a long list of bullet points. If I don’t want to read my resume, I’m sure a hiring manager won’t either. How can I be creative when writing my resume? I want my documents to stand out…

Sunday, April 29, 2018
Sunday, April 08, 2018
Sunday, April 01, 2018
Friday, March 23, 2018
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Sunday, March 11, 2018
Sunday, February 25, 2018
Sunday, February 11, 2018

Dear Sam: I’m what you would consider a “seasoned” candidate and am entering a job search after being out of the workforce for a while due to family responsibilities. I’ve read your advice about branding myself as an “up-to-date” candidate, but st…

Sunday, January 28, 2018
Sunday, January 07, 2018

Dear Sam: I am fortunate enough to be receiving offers to interview but I am always “stuck” when it comes to what questions I should ask at the end of an interview. Inevitably the interviewer will ask, “Do you have any questions I can answer?” I s…

Sunday, December 10, 2017
Sunday, December 03, 2017
Sunday, November 19, 2017
Sunday, November 12, 2017
Sunday, November 05, 2017
Sunday, October 29, 2017

Dear Sam: I worked in the financial services field for a company that eventually shut down. I was in the middle of finishing my degree in a course of study that was somewhat related to the financial industry. To be able to pay bills and support my…

Friday, October 20, 2017
Sunday, October 15, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Sunday, June 11, 2017
Wednesday, June 07, 2017
Sunday, May 21, 2017