The Southeastern Film Critics Association has named “Spotlight,” a drama about the Boston Globe’s 2002 Pulitzer Prize-winning investigation into child molestation within the Catholic Church, best movie of the year.

SEFCA’s members are professional film critics in Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Advocate film critic John Wirt is one of the group’s 55 members.

“Spotlight” writer-director Tom McCarthy and co-writer Josh Singer shared SEFCA’s top honor for original screenplay. The film also won top honors in the best ensemble acting category.

Although “Spotlight” finished behind “Mad Max: Fury Road,” the latter film’s director, George Miller, won for best director.

“Spotlight was a clear favorite with our members,” said Philip Martin, SEFCA president and chief film critic at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette. “It was an exceptionally deep year, with 99 movies — as opposed to about 80 most years — receiving at least one vote in the poll. But ‘Spotlight’ appeared on 80 percent of the ballots and received 19 No. 1 votes, by far the most of any film. Rarely have we had that sort of consensus about the top film.”

Bryan Cranston won the group’s best actor award for his work in “Trumbo.” The biopic about the blacklisted, Oscar-winning screenwriter Dalton Trumbo was shot in New Orleans.

SEFCA awarded its best actress honor to Brie Larson for her performance in the abduction drama “Room.”

Sylvester Stallone received a best supporting actor nod for “Creed” in the widely praised “Rocky.” Alicia Vikander was voted best supporting actress for sci-fi drama “Ex Machina.”

“It’s interesting to note that five actors — Michael Keaton, John Slattery, Brian d’Arcy James, Mark Ruffalo and Liev Schreiber — received votes in the best supporting actor category for their work in ‘Spotlight,’ ” Martin noted. “Keaton also received a vote in the Best Actor category.”

The group’s Wyatt Award, named in memory of SEFCA charter member Gene Wyatt and awarded annually to the film that best captures the spirit of the South, went to the documentary “Finders Keepers,” Bryan Carberry and Clay Tweel’s bizarre story about a dispute over a North Carolina man’s amputated foot.

Top 10

1. Spotlight

2. Mad Max: Fury Road

3. Room

4. Brooklyn

5. Carol

6. The Big Short

7. The Martian

8. Inside Out

9. Bridge of Spies

10. Trumbo

Best Actor

Winner: Bryan Cranston, Trumbo

Runner-up: Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs

Best Actress

Winner: Brie Larson, Room

Runner-up: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Sylvester Stallone, Creed

Runner-up: Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina

Runner-up: Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs

Best Ensemble

Winner: Spotlight

Runner-up: The Big Short

Best Director

Winner: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road

Runner-up: Tom McCarthy, Spotlight

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer for Spotlight

Runner-up: Bob Petersen, Pete Docter for Inside Out

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Emma Donoghue for Room

Runner-up: Charles Randolph and Adam McKay for The Big Short

Best Documentary

Winner: Amy

Runner-up: Best of Enemies

Foreign Language

Winner: Son of Saul

Runner-up: The Assassin

Best Animated Film

Winner: Inside Out

Runner-up: Anomalisa

Best Cinematography

Winner: John Seale for Mad Max: Fury Road

Runner-up: Luca Bigazzi for Youth

The Gene Wyatt Award for the Film that Best Evokes the Spirit of the South

Finders Keepers