Warren Storm, Guitar Gable Perrodin and Jockey Etienne will be honored with Legends awards at the 2013 Slim Harpo Music Awards Wednesday, May 1, at the Manship Theatre in the Shaw Center for the Arts, 100 Lafayette St.

David Kearns will receive the Ambassador award. Harvey Knox will receive the Pioneer award.

The Slim Harpo Music Awards are named in honor of James Moore, aka Slim Harpo, a Baton Rouge singer, harmonica player, guitarist and songwriter who influenced musicians throughout the world, including the Rolling Stones, the Kinks and Van Morrison. A reception hosted by Shirley Neal will precede the awards at 6 p.m. Following the awards presentation, Kenny Acosta will lead a jam session including David Hyde, Joe Monk, Carol Fran, Kenny Neal, Deacon John Moore, Luther Kent, John Lisi, Frederick Neal and guests.

Tickets are available at http://www.manshiptheatre.org and at (225) 344-0334. Proceeds from the awards will benefit the Music in the Schools outreach program, which places music educators and professionals in schools throughout Louisiana.

Pal Productions