Monday, March 27, 2017

Twenty-four young women were fêted at the River Road Chapter of the National Charity League's annual Senior Soirée. A week before, a group well past its high school days was honored at a Celebration of Women.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017
Saturday, March 18, 2017

For 100 years, the YMCA of the Capital Area has been enhancing the quality of life spiritually, mentally, physically and socially. From one location, the organization has grown to nine branches.

Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Saturday, March 11, 2017
Tuesday, March 07, 2017

Can you believe it's March? The first two months of 2017 have flown by, packed with Carnival fun and a host of other celebrations. And, spring's social calendar is filling up quickly. The YMCA celebrates 100 years of service to the community at a …

Saturday, March 04, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Saturday, February 25, 2017
Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Saturday, February 18, 2017

Princesses of all ages, a special honor for a former colleague and Mardi Gras celebrations fill this week's column.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Saturday, February 11, 2017
Tuesday, February 07, 2017
Monday, February 06, 2017
Saturday, January 28, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
Saturday, January 21, 2017
Saturday, January 14, 2017

As his 12 years as mayor of Baton Rouge came to a close, Kip Holden presided over one last hurrah — downtown's Red Stick Revelry New Year's Eve celebration. To kick off the festivities, Visit Baton Rouge CEO Paul Arrigo presented the mayor with a …

Tuesday, January 10, 2017
Saturday, January 07, 2017
Tuesday, January 03, 2017
Saturday, December 31, 2016

Whew! Finally, 2016 is over. What a trying time for our community. Let us all pray that 2017 brings healing and renewed efforts as the greater Baton Rouge area moves on from the devastating events of the summer. While the shootings of July tried t…

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Well, Santa's recuperating back at the North Pole after his whirlwind Christmas trip around the world. Now we're gearing up to say goodbye to 2016, and it can't happen soon enough. I think we can all agree that this year has been fraught with enou…

Saturday, December 24, 2016
Tuesday, December 20, 2016

Rising stars of the Greater Baton Rouge area were honored by the Business Report as the Top Forty Under 40 on Dec. 1 at the L'Auberge Event Center. They were selected on the basis on their professional and personal achievements in both business an…

Saturday, December 17, 2016

One week until Santa arrives! I hope you're ready. Me, I'm behind schedule getting the house decorated and gifts purchased because I've been too busy popping in and out of all the holiday celebrations — not that I'm complaining. It's been a blast!

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Christmas parties with friends, co-workers and fellow club members have kept Baton Rougeans hopping of late. After the year we've all experienced, it's been extra special to pause and share a cup of Christmas cheer with those who are part of our lives.

Saturday, December 10, 2016
Tuesday, December 06, 2016
Saturday, December 03, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Saturday, November 26, 2016

With National Philanthropy Day on Nov. 15, it was rather fitting that several organizations took the opportunity to celebrate those who go above and beyond in our community. It made for a jam-packed week of events before the Thanksgiving holiday. …

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Tomorrow's the big day — Thanksgiving! And, while our city has seen more than it's share of tragedy the past few months, there's still a lot to be thankful for — family and friends topping the list. So, in the all-too-hectic holidays about to get …

Saturday, November 19, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Saturday, November 12, 2016
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Thanksgiving is only two weeks away, but there's lots of great fundraisers filling the calendar until then. Thursday night offers two choices, both guaranteed to be great ones: the Friends of Capitol Park's "Dock to Dish" and Rural Life Museum's "…

Saturday, November 05, 2016
Tuesday, November 01, 2016

October was one very busy month here in Red Stick, but it sure was a lot of fun. November's starting out pretty great, too. On the night of Nov. 3, the Foundation for Historical Louisiana hosts its annual gala. This year's event celebrates Baton R…

Saturday, October 29, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Saturday, October 22, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Fall fun in the Capital City continues this week with the Bengal Belles luncheon and Blue Ribbon Soirée taking place on Thursday, Oct. 20, followed by the Baton Rouge Symphony League's belated Opening Night Gala and Southern University's Gala on t…

Saturday, October 15, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016

The floodwaters have receded, and recovery is underway. And, just to keep our sanity, every now and then we need take a well-deserved break and get together with friends for a bit of fun. Often, that might include doing something for others. That'…

Saturday, October 08, 2016
Tuesday, October 04, 2016