Saturday, December 03, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Saturday, November 26, 2016

With National Philanthropy Day on Nov. 15, it was rather fitting that several organizations took the opportunity to celebrate those who go above and beyond in our community. It made for a jam-packed week of events before the Thanksgiving holiday. …

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Tomorrow's the big day — Thanksgiving! And, while our city has seen more than it's share of tragedy the past few months, there's still a lot to be thankful for — family and friends topping the list. So, in the all-too-hectic holidays about to get …

Saturday, November 19, 2016
Tuesday, November 15, 2016
Saturday, November 12, 2016
Tuesday, November 08, 2016

Thanksgiving is only two weeks away, but there's lots of great fundraisers filling the calendar until then. Thursday night offers two choices, both guaranteed to be great ones: the Friends of Capitol Park's "Dock to Dish" and Rural Life Museum's "…

Saturday, November 05, 2016
Tuesday, November 01, 2016

October was one very busy month here in Red Stick, but it sure was a lot of fun. November's starting out pretty great, too. On the night of Nov. 3, the Foundation for Historical Louisiana hosts its annual gala. This year's event celebrates Baton R…

Saturday, October 29, 2016
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Saturday, October 22, 2016
Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Fall fun in the Capital City continues this week with the Bengal Belles luncheon and Blue Ribbon Soirée taking place on Thursday, Oct. 20, followed by the Baton Rouge Symphony League's belated Opening Night Gala and Southern University's Gala on t…

Saturday, October 15, 2016
Tuesday, October 11, 2016

The floodwaters have receded, and recovery is underway. And, just to keep our sanity, every now and then we need take a well-deserved break and get together with friends for a bit of fun. Often, that might include doing something for others. That'…

Saturday, October 08, 2016
Tuesday, October 04, 2016
Saturday, October 01, 2016
Tuesday, September 27, 2016

If you're a music lover, I've got just the ticket for you. It all starts Wednesday as the Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge kicks off the 10th anniversary of its River City Jazz Masters Series at the Manship Theatre with a performance by guitari…

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Belles and BigWigs, stars and jazz topped last week's party agenda here in the Capital City, a sure sign that things are getting a little better. Still, every time you see someone for the first time, you have to ask, "Did you flood?" — a reminder …

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Since the great flood of 2016, there hasn't been a whole lot of time for socializing — unless you count helping friends and family, and sometimes perfect strangers, gut their homes and haul their possessions to the trash heap. And as much as we en…

Saturday, September 17, 2016
Tuesday, September 13, 2016

When floodwater rose across the greater Baton Rouge area last month, it disrupted lives and important fundraising efforts of our nonprofits. As our fall social season was just kicking into gear, numerous events had to be canceled or postponed, whi…

Saturday, September 10, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Just as things were starting to return to normal, Mother Nature decided to inundate the Greater Baton Rouge area with record-setting floodwaters. I hope you and your loved ones are safe and dry at this point in time. It's going to be a long proces…

Saturday, August 13, 2016
Tuesday, August 09, 2016

Today is the first day of school in East Baton Rouge Parish. Several nearby parishes have been in class for almost a week now. That means summer's officially over, even though the long Labor Day weekend — which used to herald summer's end — is sti…

Saturday, August 06, 2016

It's August and things are heating up here in Red Stick, both literally and figuratively. Sweltering temperatures have ACs running full blast 24/7 and, with the kids heading back to school this week, the social calendar is starting to fill up. Two…

Saturday, July 30, 2016
Saturday, July 23, 2016
Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Saturday, July 16, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Sunday, July 10, 2016

I hope you and yours enjoyed the long Fourth of July weekend. The highlight of mine was spending time with family and friends and the 44th annual Kenilworth Civic Association’s Fourth of July parade, which rolls right in front of our house.

Thursday, July 07, 2016

Welcome’s to Pam’s Party Calendar! We hope this information makes your event planning easier. In an effort to prevent multiple events from taking place on the same night, competing for the same fundraising dollar, we’re trying to maintain a compre…

Sunday, July 03, 2016

Tomorrow’s the day we celebrate our freedom. Downtown will be hopping with all manner of events, wrapping up with Fireworks on the Mississippi. If you want to get a jump on all the fun, grab the kids and come over to my neighborhood tonight at 6:3…

Friday, July 01, 2016

Ty’Quieria Lodge, the reigning debutante cotillion queen of the Mu Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho sorority and outgoing president of its Rhoer Club, received both the Rhoer Club and Debutante scholarships at Mu Sigma's annual Scholarship & A…

Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Outgoing board Chairman Drew Sellers passed the gavel to his successor, Georgia Ford, at Volunteers of America’s annual meeting and reception June 22 at the VOA corporate office. Taking the oath of office with Ford were board officers Vice Chairma…

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Summer is officially here; one step out the back door is all you need as proof. But even the heat, humidity and rain we’ve been having of late hasn’t put a stop to partying here in the Capital City. And, even though Mardi Gras isn’t until Feb. 28,…

Tuesday, June 21, 2016
Saturday, June 18, 2016
Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Saturday, June 11, 2016

After spending an intense four months rehearsing with my fellow Team Leonard dancers to get ready for the 10th anniversary of Dancing for Big Buddy back in April, I’ve found myself really missing them and feeling like I was supposed to be at the D…

Tuesday, June 07, 2016

I hope your summer is off to a good start. If you’re looking for some fun things to do, I’ve got just the ticket. Theatre Baton Rouge’s summer musical “The Little Mermaid” is a real winner. Check out my colleague George Morris’ review at theadvocate.com.

Saturday, June 04, 2016
Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Some really fun events are coming up in the next few days. Tomorrow the Arts Council of Greater Baton Rouge hosts MPAC, a celebration of Music, People, Art and Community beginning at 7:30 p.m. at the Shaw Center for the Arts. Get tickets by callin…