The election of officers and the recognition of some very deserving volunteers topped the agenda of the annual Friends of LPB meeting and reception Sept. 9 at the Louisiana Public Broadcasting Telecommunications Center.

Robyn Merrick was elected board chairwoman. Tapped to serve with her were Donna Ewing, vice chairwoman; Dan Hare, treasurer; Carol Martin Baxter, secretary; Phillip Juban, past chairman; and board members Robert Levy and Harrison Smith.

State Rep. Jim Fannin, of Jonesboro, and Dr. Rani Whitfield, host of “Louisiana: The State We’re In’s” monthly “Prescription for Health” segment each received the President’s Award from LPB President/CEO Beth Courtney. Frances and Charles Bennett received the Friends Volunteer of the Year Award.

Follow Pam on Twitter @pamspartyline. Items for Pam’s Party Line must be received by 9 a.m. the Monday preceding the run date. High-resolution digital photos should be emailed to Hard copy photos should be dropped off at or mailed to The Advocate, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Events will run no later than four weeks after they have taken place. The date, place of the event and a contact name and daytime phone number must be included. Photos will be used at the discretion of The Advocate.