Capital Area United Way had a lot to celebrate at its annual luncheon meeting July 28 at the River Center Ballroom. First, CAUW is celebrating its 90th anniversary. Second, the 2014 Workforce Campaign, led by Stevie Toups, exceeded its goal and raised almost $9.5 million.

Living United

Recognized for their efforts in achieving this were Lumehouse — Outstanding Media Award for creative and media support; McMains Children’s Developmental Center — Community Impact Award for extraordinary dedication and commitment to the community; Mike Albano — Outstanding Board Member for providing outstanding support and leadership; Methanex — Standard of Excellence Award for providing outstanding financial and volunteer support; and CAUW staff member Edy Addison — Myron Falk Award for extraordinary dedication and commitment.

Albano, outgoing board chairman, handed out the awards with assistance from incoming board Chairman Ralph Bender, CEO Darrin Goss Sr. and emcee Kylie Dixon. Goss challenged the 500-plus attendees to help CAUW continue its mission focus on education, income stability and healthy living.

“We know the need here,” he said, adding that CAUW will need to increase its workforce campaign by 4 percent a year for the next five years. “We need to reach $16 million by 2019.”

Some of the ways CAUW plans to accomplish this is by making it easier to donate through e-pledging, text pledging and setting up a mobile giving site.

“We’re looking at ways to engage the millennials, keep the retiring baby boomers engaged and re-imaging our partnerships with our corporate partners,” said Goss.

Tapped to serve with Bender as board officers for 2015-2016 were Toups, board chairman-elect; Randy Young, secretary; Aaron Stanford, treasurer/finance committee; Joanie Montelaro, resource development chairwoman; Jesse Hoggard, community impact chairman; Dr. Stewart Gordon, community impact chairman-elect; Matthew Rachleff, communications and marketing chairman; Stan Levy, communications and marketing chairman-elect; Robert Schneckenburger and Whitney Vann, major gifts chairmen; Mark Brantley, Gottlieb Society chairman; Boys & Girls Club Executive Director Pat Van Burkleo, community partner agency representative; Albano, past board chairman/governance committee; and Goss, president/CEO.

Newly elected to the board were Brantly, Stanford, Stephanie Anderson, Ty Hingle, the Rev. Raymond Jetson, Kelli Joseph, Danny Montelaro and Erin Monroe Wesley.

Follow Pam on Twitter @pamspartyline. Items for Pam’s Party Line must be received by 9 a.m. the Monday preceding the run date. High-resolution digital photos should be emailed to Hard copy photos should be dropped off at or mailed to The Advocate, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70821. Events will run no later than four weeks after they have taken place. The date, place of the event and a contact name and daytime phone number must be included.