Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Monday, September 18, 2017
Sunday, September 17, 2017
Friday, September 15, 2017
Thursday, September 14, 2017

Dr. Hypolite Landry, who was the East Baton Rouge Parish coroner for 26 years, is also a long-time pilot. He recalls his "once in a lifetime" flying experience:

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Monday, September 11, 2017

Ben Valentine, of Gonzales, says, "My grandson, Josh Valentine Jr., a freshman at East Ascension High School, attended the LSU-Chattanooga football game in Tiger Stadium Saturday with his younger sister, Rayna, Uncle Joel and his dad, Josh.

Sunday, September 10, 2017
Friday, September 08, 2017
Thursday, September 07, 2017
Wednesday, September 06, 2017

"Having an identifiable Baton Rouge accent is a fine thing, but having a Ponchatoula one seems to have its benefits as well," says Margaret Hawkins, of Ponchatoula:

Tuesday, September 05, 2017
Monday, September 04, 2017
Sunday, September 03, 2017
Friday, September 01, 2017

Dear Smiley: While driving home from Thibodaux the other day, I noticed a young man hitchhiking. This reminded me of my last year in LSU Law School.

Thursday, August 31, 2017
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Monday, August 28, 2017

Lynda Waguespack tells me, "My daughter in Colorado forwarded this map from The Seattle Times. Sure looked like fodder for your column."

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Maybe because I've lived in and around Baton Rouge for roughly 100 years, I don't notice a distinctive accent among its residents, the way I do in Acadiana or New Orleans.

Friday, August 25, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Al Bethard, of Lafayette, says mention of accents made him recall a story in the book by former state Rep. Ron Gomez, "My Name is Ron and I'm a Recovering Legislator."

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

My favorite stories about accents and "home-town" pronunciations are the ones in which they tell a person far from home that someone else is there from the same part of the planet. For instance, this tale from Adam Graff, of Metairie: 

Monday, August 21, 2017
Sunday, August 20, 2017
Friday, August 18, 2017
Thursday, August 17, 2017

Over the past year I've received many letters like this one. At the first anniversary of the Great Flood of 2016, it's appropriate to recall that, in hard times, folks can turn into heroes:  

Wednesday, August 16, 2017
Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Joe L. Herring, of Baton Rouge, former secretary of the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, tells a story about the entertainment value of certain accents:

Monday, August 14, 2017

On Thursday, we told of Annie, who on the morning of Oct. 20, 1976, just missed the Mississippi River ferry from Destrehan to Luling — then watched from the landing as the ferry, the George Prince, collided with a Norwegian tanker, the SS Frosta, …

Sunday, August 13, 2017

If it's August, it's time for my annual Fearless Football Forecast, in which I seek to prove that a fan who watches games from a La-Z-Boy (product placement alert!) can be just as wrong as someone who watches from a press box.

Friday, August 11, 2017

Dear Smiley: Listening to speech patterns and words, and trying to identify where the speakers are from, has been a favorite pastime of mine for many years.

Thursday, August 10, 2017
Wednesday, August 09, 2017
Tuesday, August 08, 2017
Monday, August 07, 2017

I'm always amazed at how educational this column can be, thanks to my erudite contributors. We really should be offering college credit to those who read it.

Sunday, August 06, 2017
Friday, August 04, 2017
Thursday, August 03, 2017
Wednesday, August 02, 2017

We've been discussing New Orleans and Cajun accents, and readers remind us that our neighbors to the north — as close as Shreveport — have their own distinctive accents.

Tuesday, August 01, 2017
Monday, July 31, 2017
Sunday, July 30, 2017
Friday, July 28, 2017

Dear Smiley: One of my friends in Napoleonville was amazed when his wife told him that during her daily walk with her neighbors they spotted a LARGE alligator in a small ditch next to a subdivision street.

Thursday, July 27, 2017
Wednesday, July 26, 2017
Tuesday, July 25, 2017