Thursday, July 07, 2016

Welcome’s to Pam’s Party Calendar! We hope this information makes your event planning easier. In an effort to prevent multiple events from taking place on the same night, competing for the same fundraising dollar, we’re trying to maintain a compre…

Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Sunday, January 15, 2017

Thanks to Dudley Lehew, of Marrero, for introducing me to the legendary Dave "Booga Bottom" Harris, a great Mississippi character, partly truth and partly fiction.

Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

From our "Read It and Weep" department, Ronnie Stutes presents a statement that is absolutely true but somewhat heartbreaking for folks down here:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Neil Glasgow, of Covington, says, "Now that I am older, I realize I was surrounded by wisdom from my parents and siblings, who live by their own set of rules.

Monday, January 09, 2017
Sunday, January 08, 2017

While I was hunkered down, awaiting the end of the recent cold snap, I was reminded of the very few times I remember snow falling, and sticking, in the Baton Rouge area.

Friday, January 06, 2017
Thursday, January 05, 2017
Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Dudley Lehew, of Marrero, says, "This past Christmas season, with its traditional focus on small children, stirred a memory of witnessing what I'll call 'A Child's Magical Moment.'

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016

Tony Falterman, of Napoleonville, says, "When I was very young, we had an elderly priest, Father Cyprien Foret. As he aged, his decline became quite obvious — when 6 a.m. Mass was said at 5 a.m. and midnight Mass was at 11.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

James R. Madden, of Baton Rouge, says his wife learned this week that a clothing chain with stores in Louisiana "is not carrying winter coats for children this season.

Monday, December 12, 2016

Gary Chambers, of Lafayette, says, "I know you have just about shut the door on 'momisms,' but I have one that I would like to belatedly offer — if for no other reason than because of its practicality.

Sunday, December 11, 2016
Friday, December 09, 2016
Thursday, December 08, 2016
Wednesday, December 07, 2016
Tuesday, December 06, 2016
Monday, December 05, 2016
Sunday, December 04, 2016
Friday, December 02, 2016
Thursday, December 01, 2016
Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Our seminar on sage sayings by parents has yielded some inspiring words of wisdom, but none more memorable than these, as recalled by John R. Baker:

Tuesday, November 29, 2016
Monday, November 28, 2016
Sunday, November 27, 2016
Friday, November 25, 2016
Thursday, November 24, 2016

John "Spooky" Johnson, of Kenner, says when he was in Naval Aviation on the aircraft carrier Ranger, training pilots in carrier landings, he enjoyed telling his buddies south Louisiana stories that were a mixture of truth and fiction.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016
Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016
Sunday, November 20, 2016

"Bob on the Bayou" says, "Ever since I heard about 'draining the swamp' during the recent election rigmarole, I have been thinking about the version I heard in south Louisiana through the years, and then out of south Florida when the suburbanites …

Thursday, November 17, 2016
Wednesday, November 16, 2016

The decision by the New Orleans Zephyrs baseball team to re-brand itself Baby Cakes is all over social media; some call it an idiotic move, others hail it as inspired marketing.

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

After a seemingly endless supply of "momisms" came into our headquarters here at Column Central, we started noticing that Dad's pithy sayings were being rather sadly neglected.

Monday, November 14, 2016
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Friday, November 11, 2016
Thursday, November 10, 2016

Merle Albers, of Mandeville, was reminded the other day of a story about the famous University of Alabama coach Bear Bryant, "who one morning called from Tuscaloosa to Auburn but found no one at the coach’s office.