Friday, August 26, 2016
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Wednesday, August 24, 2016
Tuesday, August 23, 2016
Monday, August 22, 2016
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Friday, August 19, 2016
Thursday, August 18, 2016
Wednesday, August 17, 2016
Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Monday, August 15, 2016
Sunday, August 14, 2016
Friday, August 12, 2016
Thursday, August 11, 2016
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Tuesday, August 09, 2016
Monday, August 08, 2016
Sunday, August 07, 2016
Thursday, August 04, 2016
Wednesday, August 03, 2016
Tuesday, August 02, 2016
Monday, August 01, 2016

In the Thursday column we told how a south Louisiana guy who had moved to north Alabama was identified as being from Cajun country by his white shrimpers' boots.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Arnold Patterson, of Metairie, sent a list of memories from New Orleans' Irish Channel that hit home for me, even though my childhood was spent in Natchez, Mississippi.

Friday, July 29, 2016
Thursday, July 28, 2016

John Murphy, of Baton Rouge, says "Spooky" Johnson's recollection of a "You ain't from here" moment, in the Saturday column, "reminded me of when my brother was transferred to Huntsville in the 'Far Nawth' of Alabama.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Monday, July 25, 2016

Lee Faucette, of Baton Rouge, says this happened in the early '50s, when he was on the Warren Easton High football team in New Orleans, coached by the legendary Hoss Memtsas:

Sunday, July 24, 2016
Friday, July 22, 2016

Dear Smiley: I enjoyed the comments in the Wednesday column about the "Cream of Jambalaya" dish in the Portland, Oregon, restaurant.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

John Currier, of Port Allen, says, "As the September gator season once again rapidly approaches, I am reminded of a prior text exchange with my eldest daughter, who is now a teacher in Texas.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Frank H. Davis offers a modest proposal for those of us who are perfect drivers and get impatient with those who are less than perfect:

Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Monday, July 18, 2016

In the 37 years I've been writing this column, there have been times when events made it difficult to live up to my name and present a cheerful face to my readers.

Sunday, July 17, 2016
Friday, July 15, 2016
Thursday, July 14, 2016
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Tuesday, July 12, 2016

It seems I took my Well-Deserved Vacation during one of the worst weeks in the history of Baton Rouge.

Monday, July 11, 2016

Here's another story, and a rather unique one, for our "Where were you when Warren Morris hit the home run that beat Miami and won the College World Series title for LSU?" file:

Monday, July 04, 2016

Joan Waguespack Barre, of Metairie, says, “The picture in the June 10 Advocate, showing weird things kids ingest, reminded me of a harrowing experience I had while driving on the Causeway bridge from Covington to Metairie with my granddaughters.

Friday, July 01, 2016

Dear Smiley: Twenty years ago, when Warren Morris hit the home run that won the College World Series for LSU, we were at the Glenn Miller Festival in his birthplace, Clarinda, Iowa, about 60 miles from Omaha.

Thursday, June 30, 2016
Wednesday, June 29, 2016

Here’s evidence that once you’ve been through a hurricane the memory remains vivid, even nearly 60 years later:

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Perry Anderson Snyder, of Baton Rouge, says grandson Anderson, like most 7-year-olds, “prefers his summer to consist of ‘chilling out,’ sleeping in and playing with friends.

Monday, June 27, 2016

For all of May and most of June, my readers labored long and hard to come up with a new name for the New Orleans Zephyrs baseball team.

Monday, June 20, 2016
Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Camille Plaisance, who teaches at LSU’s E.J. Ourso College of Business, can sympathize with that boy named Sue:

Tuesday, May 03, 2016

Billy Couvillion, DDS, of Baton Rouge, has another drill sergeant story to add to our collection: