Sunday, February 19, 2017
Friday, February 17, 2017
Thursday, February 16, 2017
Wednesday, February 15, 2017

F.A. "Tony" Mouton, of Lafayette, was going through his late brother's papers when he came across a typed Valentine's Day poem he thinks his brother composed in typing class in the 1940s.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

After comments about the pelican on the Louisiana state seal, we heard from Glen Duncan, the flag and seal designer, and Curtis Vann, the artist:

Monday, February 13, 2017
Sunday, February 12, 2017

B.J. Gouedy says, "The story on Feb. 4 about the 'spider attack' on a Boy Scout holding a hatchet reminded me of years ago when my son and his dad were on top of tall ladders scrapping loose paint off a two-story house so they could repaint.

Friday, February 10, 2017
Thursday, February 09, 2017

Paul Vincent Sr. says his sister-in-law, Mary Ayres, of Ruston, is working on a project on Gov. Jimmie Davis, and asks if I recall the little restaurant where Jimmie often had breakfast and lunch.

Wednesday, February 08, 2017
Tuesday, February 07, 2017
Monday, February 06, 2017
Sunday, February 05, 2017
Friday, February 03, 2017
Thursday, February 02, 2017

"In the 1950s," says Marsha R., of Baton Rouge, "my big brother Roger Fern was a first lieutenant in the Army, where his team won the National Trophy Team Rifle Match.

Wednesday, February 01, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017
Monday, January 30, 2017
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Friday, January 27, 2017
Thursday, January 26, 2017
Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Tuesday, January 24, 2017

As a kid, when my parents did something oppressive (like telling me to clean up my room), I'd threaten to "run off and join the circus" — a threat I would scale back when they started planning to turn my room into a den…

Monday, January 23, 2017

Leslie Tassin, of Baton Rouge, wrote to tell of nicknames he recalled growing up in Bordelonville in the '50s (Tante Not, Tee-Beh, Tee-Frere, Tee-Mon, Tee-Ca, Smoolie, Mr. Crow, Miss Hen, Mr. Coon, etc.).

Sunday, January 22, 2017

Judy Medlen told me she's been sending column items to a college friend from Ville Platte now living in Minnesota, so I promised to dredge up some Minnesota stories for her.

Friday, January 20, 2017
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Wednesday, January 18, 2017
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Monday, January 16, 2017
Sunday, January 15, 2017

Thanks to Dudley Lehew, of Marrero, for introducing me to the legendary Dave "Booga Bottom" Harris, a great Mississippi character, partly truth and partly fiction.

Friday, January 13, 2017
Thursday, January 12, 2017
Wednesday, January 11, 2017

From our "Read It and Weep" department, Ronnie Stutes presents a statement that is absolutely true but somewhat heartbreaking for folks down here:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Neil Glasgow, of Covington, says, "Now that I am older, I realize I was surrounded by wisdom from my parents and siblings, who live by their own set of rules.

Monday, January 09, 2017
Sunday, January 08, 2017

While I was hunkered down, awaiting the end of the recent cold snap, I was reminded of the very few times I remember snow falling, and sticking, in the Baton Rouge area.

Friday, January 06, 2017
Thursday, January 05, 2017
Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Dudley Lehew, of Marrero, says, "This past Christmas season, with its traditional focus on small children, stirred a memory of witnessing what I'll call 'A Child's Magical Moment.'

Sunday, December 18, 2016
Friday, December 16, 2016
Thursday, December 15, 2016

Tony Falterman, of Napoleonville, says, "When I was very young, we had an elderly priest, Father Cyprien Foret. As he aged, his decline became quite obvious — when 6 a.m. Mass was said at 5 a.m. and midnight Mass was at 11.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016
Tuesday, December 13, 2016

James R. Madden, of Baton Rouge, says his wife learned this week that a clothing chain with stores in Louisiana "is not carrying winter coats for children this season.

Monday, December 12, 2016

Gary Chambers, of Lafayette, says, "I know you have just about shut the door on 'momisms,' but I have one that I would like to belatedly offer — if for no other reason than because of its practicality.

Sunday, December 11, 2016
Friday, December 09, 2016