Sunday, October 15, 2017
Friday, October 13, 2017
Thursday, October 12, 2017
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Harry Clark, of Lafayette, says he once hired "a strapping young fellow" named Joe, who had just been discharged from the Marine Corps:

Monday, October 09, 2017
Sunday, October 08, 2017
Friday, October 06, 2017
Thursday, October 05, 2017
Wednesday, October 04, 2017
Tuesday, October 03, 2017

Willie Price, of New Iberia, tells a story from the late 1970s, when Hôtel-Dieu hospital was operating in New Orleans. The Catholic facility, whose French name means "hostel of God," was sold to the state in 1992 and became University Hospital.

Monday, October 02, 2017

Roy Robison, of Baton Rouge, offers a timely comment: "It's ironic that these big-time college football programs include those smaller colleges on their schedules and refer to them as 'rent a wins.'

Sunday, October 01, 2017
Friday, September 29, 2017
Thursday, September 28, 2017
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

"We all know and hate traffic photo tickets," says Danny Nodurft. "When I got one on Saturday, I looked at it and it was my car. However, I wasn't driving it. Turns out my son did. So, in mild protest, I sent the following missive with a check:

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Dudley Lehew, of Marrero, says he and Mary, his wife for over 30 years, celebrate the night they first met rather than their anniversary, and he tries to make it special:  

Monday, September 25, 2017
Sunday, September 24, 2017

Just in case you're getting tired of our series on squirrels, here's a rabbit story. (OK, so it's a rabbit/squirrel story, but at least I'm getting other animals involved. Bear with me; and no, that wasn't an animal-related remark.) 

Friday, September 22, 2017
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Wednesday, September 20, 2017
Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Monday, September 18, 2017
Sunday, September 17, 2017
Friday, September 15, 2017
Thursday, September 14, 2017

Dr. Hypolite Landry, who was the East Baton Rouge Parish coroner for 26 years, is also a long-time pilot. He recalls his "once in a lifetime" flying experience:

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Tuesday, September 12, 2017
Monday, September 11, 2017

Ben Valentine, of Gonzales, says, "My grandson, Josh Valentine Jr., a freshman at East Ascension High School, attended the LSU-Chattanooga football game in Tiger Stadium Saturday with his younger sister, Rayna, Uncle Joel and his dad, Josh.

Sunday, September 10, 2017
Friday, September 08, 2017
Thursday, September 07, 2017
Wednesday, September 06, 2017

"Having an identifiable Baton Rouge accent is a fine thing, but having a Ponchatoula one seems to have its benefits as well," says Margaret Hawkins, of Ponchatoula:

Tuesday, September 05, 2017
Monday, September 04, 2017
Sunday, September 03, 2017
Friday, September 01, 2017

Dear Smiley: While driving home from Thibodaux the other day, I noticed a young man hitchhiking. This reminded me of my last year in LSU Law School.

Thursday, August 31, 2017
Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Monday, August 28, 2017

Lynda Waguespack tells me, "My daughter in Colorado forwarded this map from The Seattle Times. Sure looked like fodder for your column."

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Maybe because I've lived in and around Baton Rouge for roughly 100 years, I don't notice a distinctive accent among its residents, the way I do in Acadiana or New Orleans.

Friday, August 25, 2017
Thursday, August 24, 2017
Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Al Bethard, of Lafayette, says mention of accents made him recall a story in the book by former state Rep. Ron Gomez, "My Name is Ron and I'm a Recovering Legislator."

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

My favorite stories about accents and "home-town" pronunciations are the ones in which they tell a person far from home that someone else is there from the same part of the planet. For instance, this tale from Adam Graff, of Metairie: 

Monday, August 21, 2017
Sunday, August 20, 2017