Saturday, December 31, 2016

Warren and Mary Perrin, of Lafayette, traveled to New Brunswick, Canada, on Nov. 12-18 to research an upcoming book based on their Acadian ancestry. While there, they also attended the world premiere of the documentary 'Cajun Heart' by Phil Comeau…

Monday, December 26, 2016

If you're heading to Orlando, Florida, this week with Citrus Bowl tickets in hand, you'll probably be scouting out what to do before or after LSU takes on the Louisville Cardinals at Camping World Stadium at 11 a.m. Saturday. (The game's on TV her…

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Terry and Brenda Theriot, of Baton Rouge, trek through the Merzouga desert in Morocco on camels in November. The Theriots spent three weeks touring the country, where their daughter, Nicole Theriot, serves as the U.S. consul general in Casablanca.…

Saturday, November 26, 2016
Saturday, November 19, 2016

Larry and JiJi Jonas, of Baton Rouge, hold a koala at Cleland Wildlife Park outside Adelaide, Australia. The Jonases said the park visit was one of the highlights of their recent 39-day tour of Australia and New Zealand.

Saturday, October 29, 2016

Thornton H. Cofield and his wife, Barbara Wittkopf, of Baton Rouge, spent two days in Coober Pedy, Australia, during their September trip through the outback. Here, the couple visits the 'Big Winch,' which sits atop a hill in the town. They also s…

Saturday, October 08, 2016
Friday, October 07, 2016

Penny Edwards, of Lafayette, takes in the balcony view at the Casa Kimberly Hotel in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. Once the love nest of celebrity couple Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton, the casa now caters to those in search of Old Hollywood luxur…

Saturday, October 01, 2016
Saturday, August 27, 2016
Saturday, July 23, 2016

On their June trip to Florida, Universal Studios in Orlando was one of several stops for the Chelchowski family of Watson, back from left, Steven, John and Joshua; Amy, seated, and Jessica. While in Orlando, the family also visited Disney World's …

Saturday, July 16, 2016

Marsha Mandella, from left, her daughter, Misty Mandella, both of Independence; Marsha’s cousin, Dawn Cantrell King and her husband, Dan King, of Baton Rouge, visit Alaska’s Denali National Park and Preserve in June. Behind Marsha’s head is the pe…

Sunday, July 10, 2016
Saturday, April 30, 2016

The Advocate Eat, Play, Live section’s Way to Go feature spotlights photographs of Louisiana residents taken on their travels within the past two months in the United States and abroad.

Monday, April 25, 2016
Monday, April 11, 2016
Thursday, March 24, 2016
Saturday, March 12, 2016
Wednesday, February 24, 2016

See a sprawling display of colorful camellias at the 7th Annual Camellia Gardens Open House at the Southeast Louisiana National Wildlife Refuges Complex headquarters in Lacombe Saturday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Saturday, January 16, 2016
Saturday, December 19, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Saturday, October 03, 2015
Sunday, September 27, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Thursday, September 10, 2015
Thursday, August 13, 2015

As a recent vacation to the British Isles wound down, it was less the well-known tourist attractions and more the search for a contemporary relevance between the Old World and the New World that mattered most.

Tuesday, July 14, 2015

WINTER HAVEN, Fla. (AP) — While shoveling a ceremonial scoop of Lego bricks, Legoland Florida executives announced Thursday that the theme park will build a 152-room hotel on its property by 2015.

The Great Lakes Timber Show will be part of the 30th Lumberjack Festival Friday-Saturday in Springhill.

BILOXI, Miss. — Beauvoir, the Jefferson Davis Home & Presidential Library, will host the Festival of Light for the holiday season, beginning Nov. 7 and running through Jan. 5.

We swayed back and forth as the small van traveled a remote lane on one of the Aran Islands, massive green hills to our left, a misty stretch of the Atlantic to the right. Bertie Mullin, our guide and a gregarious native of this western sliver of …

GRANADA, Spain — For the third time in a week, I’m touring the Alhambra, one of the most popular sites in the world’s fourth most-visited country, and finally I have it all for myself.

NEW YORK — The Statue of Liberty is scheduled to reopen to visitors on July 4th for the first time since Superstorm Sandy. But for those who just want a photo op with the statue, there are many other vantage points, from Red Hook, Brooklyn, and Go…

The Jeanerette Bicentennial Park and Museum has extended its days of operations to Fridays, and is now open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesdays to Fridays.

New Iberia’s century-old train station got a little sprucing-up recently thanks to the efforts of local historian Shane K Bernard.

Saturday, June 06, 2015