A dozen state and municipal employees will be honored on Thursday with a Dunbar Award bestowed by the Louisiana Civil Service League.

The awards, named after Charles E. Dunbar, co-author of Louisiana’s first civil service law, are presented to workers in classified systems “who have distinguished themselves by service over and above the call of duty.”

The awards will be presented at a luncheon to be held at noon on Thursday at the Doubletree Hotel in New Orleans.

The honorees for 2015 are:

Robbie Downing Averett, of Maurepas, agriculture enforcement manager, the state Department of Agriculture and Forestry.

Sharon Balfour, of Lafayette, marine and rail administrator, Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development.

Carla Bonaventure, of Greenwell Springs, commercial administrator, Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Bobby Collins, of Winnsboro, veterans assistance counselor 2, Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs.

John J. Dobard, of New Orleans, police officer IV, New Orleans Police Department.

William Paul Gaspard, of Marksville, corrections deputy warden III, Avoyelles Correctional Center.

Sherri Wharton Hadskey, of Baton Rouge, election program administrator, Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office.

Raj Jindal, of Baton Rouge, information technology director 3, Louisiana Workforce.

Daniel J. Magri, of Baton Rouge, highway safety administrator, Louisiana DOTD.

Rosanna Marino, of Baton Rouge, training and development program manager, Department of State Civil Service.

Harold “Skip” Paul, Baton Rouge, director of Louisiana Transportation Research Center, DOTD.

Cynthia C. Suite, DNP, MSN, RN, of Youngsville, Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting program manager, Department of Health and Hospitals.

Twelve honorable mentions will also be cited this year, because of the closeness of their scores to the winners. Certificates of Merit will be presented to the following:

Minta P. Canelas, of Baton Rouge, administrative assistant, state Department of Environmental Quality; Adaora Chukudebelu, of Baton Rouge, deputy general counsel, Division of Administrative Law; James Cruze Jr., of Pride, corrections assistant warden II, Louisiana State Penitentiary; Donald Haydel, of Prairieville, executive director, Atchafalaya Basin Program, Department of Natural Resources; Karen Hebert, of Baton Rouge, senior policy advisor/confidential assistant, Department of Children and Family Services; Amy Hernandez, of Zachary, agriculture environmental specialist, administrative coordinator, Department of Agriculture and Forestry; Darren S. Richard, of Cameron, technician supervisor, Wildlife and Fisheries/Rockerfeller Wildlife Refuge; Verdie Richburg, of Metairie, head of public services, Jefferson Parish Public Library; Charles Simoneaux, of Mandeville, information technology manager, Mandeville Police Department; Arleeta Terrell, of Kenner, director of Kenner Community Development; Thomas Terry, of New Orleans, building maintenance superintendent, New Orleans Property Management; and Elizabeth “Ann” Wise, of Ethel, engineer 6 — DCL, DOTD/Office of the Secretary.