Lake Sherwood Garden Club holds annual party

The Lake Sherwood Garden Club held its annual party for Lake Sherwood Village Retirement Community residents on March 22.

The River Road Ramblers from the Junior League of Baton Rouge sang and danced to patriotic tunes, sang the anthems of each military branch, and attendees sang from a book of familiar songs.

Pointe Coupee Hospice honors its volunteers

Pointe Coupee Hospice honored its volunteers April 10-16 during National Volunteer Week for providing support, companionship and hope to patients and families facing serious and life-limiting illness.

Nine direct-care volunteers provided nearly 300 hours in 2015. Three volunteer quilters made 115 “Quilts of Love” in 2015. The quilts are given to each hospice patient on admission to the program.

Volunteers often serve patients and families at the bedside but also assist in the office, help raise awareness, contribute to educational programs and provide fundraising support. Volunteers logged more than 100 fundraising hours and nearly 25 clerical hours.

Blanche Jewell is a hospice volunteer and volunteer coordinator for Pointe Coupee Hospice. To learn about hospice or volunteer opportunities, call (225) 638-5717.

Manship students win digital advertising event

Digital advertising students from LSU’s Manship School of Mass Communication won the National Student Advertising Competition regional round April 7-10 in Johnson City, Tennessee, for the second year in a row.

They will move to the semi-finals, where eight schools will be chosen for the finals in June in Anaheim, California. The American Advertising Federation sponsors the competition.

The LSU students developed an integrated marketing campaign for Snapple, this year’s corporate client for more than 200 university chapters around the country. The LSU team competed against schools in Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Also during the regional competition, Paige Roberts, a native of Montgomery, Texas, was named best presenter, and LSU AdFed President Hannah Alkadi, of Baton Rouge, won the Jan Gardner Memorial Scholarship, which recognizes academically talented students in advertising-related disciplines. Professors Yongick Jeong and Jennifer Macha advised the team.

In addition to Roberts and Alkadi, the Manship students were Ashley Estave, of Central; Madeline Engler, of Metairie; Sean Averette, of Baton Rouge; Michael Grob, of Baton Rouge; Jason King, of Baton Rouge; Seth Hagan, of Covington; Hailey Caldwell, of Mandeville; Michael Haarala, of Ruston; and Alexande DeBlieux, of Houma.

Friendship Force of BR attends SW conference

Ten Friendship Force of Baton Rouge members attended the Friendship Force Southwest Regional Conference April 1-2 in Austin, Texas.

They attended a Friday hospitality party. On Saturday, Thomas Garza spoke about “Putin’s Russia.” Garza is an associate professor in the Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies at University of Texas.

Members attended sessions on topics relating to Friendship Force, and attended a dinner and dance that night.

Scholarship winners perform for Music Club

Winners of 2015-16 Music Club Scholarships performed for the Music Club of Baton Rouge April 12. All are students in the LSU School of Music.

Emma Reed, flute, winner of the Music Club Instrumental Scholarship, performed “Sonata in E Major” by Bach, accompanied by Mary Bresowar, piano. Raudol Palacios, cello, winner of the Mrs. W. Carruth Jones Scholarship, performed “Elegy” by Gabriel Fauré, and “Tarantella” by David Popper, accompanied by Yiseul LeMieux, piano.

Wei Chuen “Louis” Ong, baritone, recipient of the Earl W. Redding Scholarship in Musical Theater, sang “Da Jiang Dong Qu,” a Chinese Art Song by Qing Zhu; “Le temps des lilas” by Ernest Chausson; “Die Post” from Winterreise by Franz Schubert; and “On a Clear Day” by Burton Lane. Jacqueline McCarthy, soprano, recipient of the Marshall Peery Scholarship, sang “Trübe Augen” from Der Freischutz by Carl Maria von Weber, and Three Browning Songs by Amy Beach. Louis Wendt was pianist for both performers.

Program chair was Ellen Bordelon. Jessie Mulkey and Jo Zganjar co-chaired the Hospitality Committee. Committee members were Beryl Browning, Nola Labat, Judy LaBauve, Eunice Landolt, Jackie Lewis, Lois Michelli, Katherine Nadler, Goldie O’Bannon and Merlyn Stratman.

Compiled by Advocate staff writer George Morris. The “Community” column runs every Tuesday and Friday in The Advocate. Items should be submitted to “Community,” Advocate eatplaylive section, P.O. Box 588, Baton Rouge, LA 70821, or emailed to Events should be submitted in a timely fashion. By submitting photos to The Advocate, you agree that they can be published in any of The Advocate’s print or digital publications.