East Baton Rouge Parish Sheriff Sid Gautreaux III and six other officials will be inducted Friday into the Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame.

“I entered a career in law enforcement to serve the public, and I am blessed by the opportunity to do so,” Gautreaux said in a Sheriff’s Office news release. “I am overwhelmed by such an acknowledgement.”

The induction into the Hall of Fame is a public service honor sponsored by the Louisiana State Penitentiary Museum Foundation, a nonprofit that studies public safety and corrections, said Casey Rayborn Hicks, a Sheriff’s Office spokeswoman.

The ceremony, now in its 10th year, involves a tour of the Louisiana State Penitentiary at Angola and a viewing of its Museum Complex, Hicks said.

Gautreaux started in law enforcement at the East Baton Rouge Sheriff’s Office in 1976, and four years later he became chief of police in Baker. Gautreaux led the department for 27 years before running for sheriff. His platform emphasized uniform patrol and better coordination among various police agencies.

Gautreaux also was elected sergeant at arms and secretary-treasurer for the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association in 2012.

Lindy Boggs, the first woman elected to Congress from Louisiana, will be inducted posthumously at Friday’s event, according to a Louisiana Justice Hall of Fame release.

The other inductees are as follows:

  • E. Pete Adams, executive director of the Louisiana District Attorneys Association.
  • Glenn H. Curtis, adjutant general of the Louisiana National Guard.
  • Andy Brown, Jackson Parish sheriff.
  • David Burton, district attorney for the 36th Judicial District in Beauregard Parish.
  • Judge Fredericka Homberg “Ricky” Wicker, of the Louisiana 5th Circuit Court of Appeal.

Two Orleans Parish Criminal District Court judges will receive the Louisiana State Re-Entry Service Award: Arthur Hunter and Laurie White.