NEW ORLEANS (AP) -- The U.S. Postal Service is considering the closure of 51 offices in Louisiana.

The agency’s list released Tuesday includes two in New Orleans, two in Alexandria and one each in Baton Rouge, Lafayette and Lake Charles. The Baton Rouge branch under consideration for closure is the 70508 Istrouma Branch

The rest of the closures would hit smaller communities such as Avery Island, Pointe a La Hache, Acme, Transylvania and Carville.

The financially-troubled Postal Service announced that it will study 3,653 local offices, branches and stations for possible closing. But many of those may be replaced by Village Post Offices in which postal services are offered in local stores, libraries or government offices.

Being on the study list does not mean necessarily that a post office will close.

The list of offices being studied can be found at

© 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.