Clarissa A. Preston, governmental affairs adviser in Adams and Reese’s Baton Rouge law office, has been presented The Women of Excellence Award in Business from the Louisiana Legislative Women’s Caucus Foundation.

The award recognizes achievements and contributions of women who personify excellence in leadership, profession, academics, community service, character and integrity.

Bernard L. Malone III, a Baton Rouge native, received a Chairman’s Award from the Technical Committee on Communications Quality & Reliability, an IEEE Communications Society international professional organization.

Malone, a technical-professional with 30 years in technology and telecommunications infrastructure development, sales, engineering and manufacturing leadership, was honored for his contributions in advancing communications services, networks and systems; responding to major catastrophes, particularly in assisting life-saving efforts in extreme events; and inspiring others as a role model.

Bennett L. Politz and E. Jane Sherman were presented the Louisiana Bar Foundation’s President’s Award.

The award recognizes outstanding support in volunteer service in advancing the mission of the foundation, which works for equal justice under the law. Sherman and Politz co-chaired the LBF development committee, leading the efforts of the Louisiana Campaign to Preserve Civil Legal Aid.

Robelynn H. Abadie, CEO of Abadie Financial Services LLC, has earned the Chartered Advisor in Philanthropy professional designation from the Richard D. Irwin Graduate School of The American College in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania.

Certification is based on completion of required courses and examinations.

The Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons has granted three-year accreditation with commendation to Mary Bird Perkins – Our Lady of the Lake Cancer Center. Accreditation is based on quality care standards and evaluations.


The Jefferson Chamber of Commerce presented Business Leadership Awards recognizing accomplishments of small and large businesses and the efffect they have made on the Jefferson Parish business community. The Entrepreneurial Spirit Award went to Jeris Freesmeier, with State Farm Insurance; Family-Owned Business of the Year to Daul Insurance Agency; Innovator of the Year to Nola Motorsports Park; Large Business of the Year to The Laitram Corp.; Small Business of the Year to Universal Data Inc.; Women-Owned Business of the Year to Starr Textile Services; Joseph Rault Community Leader of the Year to Leon Giorgio Jr.; U.S. Chamber Blue Ribbon Awards to BooKoo Bounce, FSC Interactive and PosiGen; and the JEDCO Challenge Award to Terry Ancar, with PortaVision Medical.


Brian T. Kirk, chief financial officer at University Hospital & Clinics, has earned the professional designation of Certified Medical Practice Executive from the American College of Medical Practice Executives.