William Balhoff, Toni Stephenson and Robert Stuart have been named to the LSU E.J. Ourso College of Business Hall of Distinction.

Balhoff, managing director and chief executive officer of Postlethwaite & Netterville, is a 1976 accounting graduate of LSU. P&N is one of the largest independent accounting and business advisory firms in the nation and the only Top 100 firm based in Louisiana.

Stephenson, president of Inc., earned her bachelor’s from the LSU College of Arts and Sciences in 1967, and is an alumna of the Harvard Business School. Inc. is an Internet publishing company that owns almost 10,000 websites. Stephenson is also the co-founder and a partner of Stephenson Ventures, an investment management and private equity firm, and a founder, former director and former president of Charter Bank and Trust.

Stuart, head of middle market commercial banking for Capital One Bank and the Louisiana state president for the bank, earned his bachelor’s in finance in 1978 and his master’s in finance in 1979, both from LSU. He is also an alumnus of the Harvard Business School. Capital One Financial Corp. is a Fortune 500 financial holding company.

The three will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet March 23 at the Business Education Complex.

Trula Marie Haley Remson, of Remson Haley Herpin Architects, has been named to the College of Fellows by the American Institute of Architects. The Fellowship program recognizes architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession.

Naya Wiley, paralegal in the Baton Rouge office of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz PC, was named 2013 Paralegal of the Year by the Baton Rouge Paralegal Association.

Jerold Marc Matherne, a financial planner with The Shobe Financial Group, has earned the designation of Certified Financial Planner from the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards Inc. The certification is based on studies and an exam.

Baton Rouge General has earned designation as a NICHE (Nurses Improving Care for Health System Elders) hospital from The Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing at New York University College of Nursing. The designation recognizes a commitment to excellence in senior care. Baton Rouge Family Medical Center, a Baton Rouge General Physicians network clinic, received Diabetes Recognition Program recognition from The National Committee for Quality Assurance. The recognition, valid for three years, is based on data demonstrating performance in key diabetes care measures.

Associated Builders and Contractors presented Group Contractors LLC, of Baton Rouge, with an Excellence in Construction Eagle Award and Arrighi Construction LLC, of Baton Rouge, an Excellence in Construction Pyramid Award.

Group Contractors won for its infrastructure work on the shredder facility dock for EMR-Southern Recycling in New Orleans in the category Infrastructure: Heavy–All Contract Amounts.

Arrighi won for its work on the North Boulevard Town Square, Phase 1 project in Baton Rouge in the category “Other Construction — $2 million-$100 million.”

Comprehensive Pain Management has achieved accreditation by the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care. Accreditation is based on an extensive self-assessment and on-site survey by AAAHC expert surveyors and recognizes a safe environment and quality patient care.


The Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater New Orleans has been named a 2012 Ten Star Chapter by the national organization. Chapters receive the designation for specific activities designed to increase professionalism within fundraising and public awareness of the importance of philanthropy.


The Louisiana Nurses Foundation has inducted into its Hall of Fame from the local area Sheila Allen, of the Baton Rouge district, and Marilyn Sullivan, of the Northshore district.

Annual Nightingale Awards winners from the local area are Laurie Anne Ferguson, of Loyola University in New Orleans, Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year; Leisa Kelly, of Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center in Baton Rouge, Clinical Nurse Researcher of the Year; Cynthia Bienemy, of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing, Outstanding Nurse Researcher; Jennifer Gillespie, of East Jefferson General Hospital, Rookie of the Year; Amye Reeves, of Woman’s Hospital in Baton Rouge, Registered Nurse Mentor of the Year; Christa Wilborn, of Ochsner Medical Center Baton Rouge, Clinical Practice Nurse of the Year; Lori Denstel, of Woman’s Hospital, Nursing Administrator of the Year; Jennifer Steel, of West Jefferson Medical Center, Outstanding Community Achievement by a Registered Nurse; Sandra Chaisson Brown, of Southern University, Nursing Educator of the Year; Gwendolyn George, of Loyola University, Nursing School Administrator of the Year; LSU Health New Orleans Health Sciences Center School of Nursing, Nursing School of the Year–Entry into Practice Program; Intercollegiate Consortium (Southeastern Louisiana University, University of Louisiana-Lafayette, McNeese State University and Nichols State University) for a Master of Science in Nursing, Nursing School of the Year–Advanced Practice Program; Karen Loden, Louisiana State Nurses Association Volunteer of the Year; Alyea Marnia Minter Pollard, Dr. Joe Ann Clark Scholarship Award; Primary Care Providers for a Healthy Feliciana, Outstanding Employer or Facility of the Year; Woman’s Hospital, Specialty Hospital of Year; Lane Regional Medical Center, Zachary, Acute Care Hospital of the Year (61-160 beds); Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, Acute Care Hospital of the Year (over 161 beds); Alicia Plumer, of Woman’s Hospital, Registered Nurse of the Year; and Alice Battista, of Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, Registered Nurse of the Year.