Sandra Harper, president of Our Lady of the Lake College, has been elected to the board of directors of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities. The association represents about 200 Catholic institutions of higher learning in the U.S., plus two dozen international universities.

Terry Compton, a diabetes educator on the faculty of Southeastern Louisiana University’s School of Nursing, has been elected to the board of directors of the American Association of Diabetes Educators.

LSU researcher Clinton Willson has been named director of engineering design and innovation for the Water Institute of the Gulf.

Willson will remain a professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at LSU and continue to serve on LSU’s Coastal Sustainability Studio executive board.

Associated Grocers Inc. has named Darin M. Arceneaux as executive vice president operations and chief financial officer and Emile R. Breaux as executive vice president-retail operations.

Arceneaux has served as senior vice president and CFO. He continues to serve as treasurer of the corporation and is also the general manager of subsidiary Dart Refrigeration.

Breaux has served as senior vice president, sales and marketing. He will also be overseeing the information services department in addition to his current role of managing all procurement, sales and marketing.

Loretta Bodi has been named operations manager for Gainey’s Concrete Products in Holden. She was on the company’s sales team.


Scott Sarrat has been named senior vice president, corporate banking relationship manager in Regions Bank’s New Orleans, Baton Rouge and Acadiana market.

Sarrat was commercial banking relationship manager.

G. Scott Vezina, formerly of New Orleans, has been promoted to partner in the

Philadelphia personal injury law firm Feldman Shepherd Wohlgelernter Tanner Weinstock & Dodig LLP.

Vezina was special assistant attorney general for Louisiana from 1997 to 2004.


Kirby Arceneaux, chairman of Environmental Drilling Solutions LLC, has been named 2013 chairman of the Louisiana Gulf Coast Oil Exposition in Lafayette.

Other officers are Steve Maley, operations manager for Badger Oil Corp., chairman-elect and Kenneth “Kenny” Crouch, owner of Pressure Control Specialties, treasurer.


Gov. Bobby Jindal has made appointments and reappointments from the local area to several boards, commissions and committees.

  • Louisiana Drug Control and Violent Crime Policy Board: Carlos Stout, chief of police for Carencro; Steve Caraway, chief of police for Kenner; and James “Doug” Browning, chief of police for Central.
  • Louisiana Educational Television Authority: Sandy Breland, of Baton Rouge, general manager of WAFB-TV.
  • Residential Building Contractors Subcommittee: Wes Wyman Jr., of Belle Chasse, owner of W.L. Wyman Construction Co. Inc.; Billy Ward, of Brusly, owner and president of Champion Builders LLC; and Kay Gibson, of Lafayette, owner of M & K Gibson Construction Inc.
  • Addictive Disorders Regulatory Authority: Dr. Ronald Taravella, of Baton Rouge, a psychiatrist at the Ascension Parish Prison and medical director of the Baton Rouge Area Alcohol and Drug Center.
  • Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Board: Bill Kipf, of Bill Kipf, Real Estate Appraiser and Appraisal Consultants in Baton Rouge.
  • Environmental Education Commission: Nancy Rabalais, of Baton Rouge, executive director of the Louisiana Universities Marine Consortium.
  • Louisiana Board of International Commerce: Gregory R. Rusovich, of New Orleans, chief executive officer of Transoceanic Trading and Development Co.; Don Sanders, of Baton Rouge, a partner of Orion Instruments LLC; Jay Hardman, of Baton Rouge, executive director of the Port of Greater Baton Rouge; Gary P. LaGrange, of New Orleans, president and CEO of the Port of New Orleans; Robert Scafidel, of Chalmette, executive director of the St. Bernard Port, Harbor and Terminal District; Philippe J. Gustin, of Lafayette, director of Le Centre International de Lafayette, the Lafayette Consolidated Government’s International Trade Division; Dominik Knoll, of New Orleans, CEO of the World Trade Center of New Orleans; Dan Feibus, of Lafayette, CEO of Zagis USA; John F. Fay Jr., of Fay, Nelson & Fay LLC in New Orleans; Joel T. Chaisson, of Destrehan, executive director of the Port of South Louisiana; Kevin Blondiau, of Belle Chasse, a river pilot for the Crescent River Port Pilots Association; and Marion Fox, of Jennings, executive director of Jefferson Parish Economic Development and Tourist Commission.