Antonio “Tony” Clayton, Russell Jones and Johnnie L. Matthews will be inducted into the 2015 Southern University Law Center Alumni Hall of Fame.

Clayton is senior partner in the law firm of Clayton and Frugé in Port Allen. Jones is SULC’s vice chancellor for academic affairs. Matthews is senior partner of Matthews and Matthews Law Firm.

State Rep. Edward “Ted” James will be honored as a Distinguished Alumnus, along with William Bradford, city attorney of Shreveport; Krystal J. Brumfield, of Washington, D.C.; Donald Cravins, of Washington, D.C. and Opelousas; and Christian Elloie, of New York City.

The Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance Inc. announced the winners of its 19th annual Contractor Safety Excellence Awards in five categories across three size divisions.

The top award, the 2015 Hal G. Ginn Safety Excellence Award, was earned by Performance Contractors Inc. for the best overall performance.

Winners by category are:

General Construction and Maintenance

Division I: First place went to Regal Industrial Group and second to James Construction Group I&M Division.

Division II: First place, Zachry Industrial Inc.; second, JVIC; and third, CB&I.

Division III: First place, Performance Contractors; second, Jacobs.

Soft Craft Specialty Trade

Division I: First place went to Midwest Cooling Tower Services LLC, second to Thorpe Sunbelt and third to Veolia ES Industrial Services.

Division II: First place, Petrin Corp.; second, Pentair Thermal-Tracer Construction; and third, Hoist & Crane Service Group.

Division III: First place, Excel Modular Scaffold Leasing Corp.; second, Thermon Heat Tracing Services-II Inc.; third, Brand Energy Solutions.

Hard Craft Specialty Trade

Division II: First place went to Westgate LLC, second to Vector Electric & Controls Inc. and third to PALA Interstate.

Division III: First place, ISC Constructors LLC; second, Triad Electric & Controls Inc.

Technical Support

Division I: First place went to JCL Safety Services LLC, second to V.J. Rollo Security Services Inc. and third to Industrial Emergency Services LLC.

Division II: First place, Capitol Ultrasonics LLC; second, Guardian Compliance/SealTech Inc.; third, Veolia North America.

Division III: First place, SGS Petroleum Service Corp.; second, Acuren Inspection.

City Year Baton Rouge, an education-focused organization that unites young adults for a year of service in high-need urban public schools, has recognized the Albemarle Foundation for its investment in education and dedication to helping students and schools succeed.

David Mason, senior district manager of disposal for Waste Management in the Baton Rouge area, received the 2015 Bentley B. Mackay Jr. Award for excellence and leadership in the solid waste profession. The annual winner is selected by the Louisiana Board of Certification for Solid Waste Operators and presented at the Louisiana Solid Waste Association annual conference.

Mason supervises operations of the Woodside Landfill in Livingston Parish, Baton Rouge’s municipal North Landfill and Reliable Landfill in Pointe Coupee Parish.


Lafayette City Court Judge Douglas J. Saloom received a public service award from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for his work to streamline and strengthen Louisiana’s impaired driving statutes.


Tulane Health System’s Tulane Lakeside Hospital for Women and Children has received national recognition as a Baby-Friendly Designated birth facility under a global program of the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children’s Fund.

The goal is to improve health outcomes for mothers and babies through breast-feeding and immediate skin-to-skin bonding.