Cheryl Taylor, director of the Office of Nursing Research in Southern University’s School of Nursing, has been named a fellow in the American Academy of Nurses, based on her significant contributions to nursing and health care.

Dr. Chris Wroten, of the Bond-Wroten Eye Clinics, has been named Louisiana’s 2011 Young Optometrist of the Year by the Optometry Association of Louisiana.

The Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants presented Debra White Lockwood with its Distinguished Public Service Award and William Potter with its Lifetime Membership Award. Lockwood is executive vice president and chief financial officer for Provident Resources Group Inc. Potter is senior tax director at Postlethwaite and Netterville.

Lafayette-based advertising agency BBR Creative won two Bronze Tellys for outstanding campaigns promoting the United Way of Acadiana/Women’s Leadership Council Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library. The international Telly awards honor the best work among advertising agencies, production companies, television stations, cable operators and corporate video departments

Carencro-based telephone answering service Dexcomm has been presented the Award of Excellence by the Association of TeleServices International for courtesy, response time, accuracy and overall service to their clients. Dexcomm earned the Ruby Award for eight consecutive years.