LSU Department of Physics & Astronomy associate professor Kenneth “Kip” Matthews II has been named a fellow of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine.

Fellowship honors members who have made significant contributions through service; the advancement of medical physics knowledge based on independent original research or development; medical physics educational activities, especially educating and training of medical physicists, medical students, medical residents and allied health personnel; and leadership in the practice of medical physics.

His research principally deals with detector systems for radioisotope imaging. He also is involved with medical imaging techniques applied to radiation therapy. Matthews also collaborates on imaging-related projects with LSU faculty in chemistry, biological engineering and veterinary medicine. Matthews also has served since 2010 as the director of its National Science Foundation-funded Research Experiences for Undergraduates program.

Katie Guedry, a clinical dietitian with Our Lady of the Lake, has been selected as a Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year by the Louisiana Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Her areas of expertise include surgery trauma, trauma critical care, nephrology, respiratory care and medical and surgical intensive care. Guedry received her bachelor’s degree in dietetics from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

L’Auberge Casino & Hotel Baton Rouge earned the AAA Four Diamond rating, a standard achieved by 5.9 percent of the nearly 28,000 AAA-approved hotels, as did L’Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles.

The Baton Rouge location has 205 rooms, including 30 suites. L'Auberge's standard rooms feature LED televisions, iPod docking stations, robes, slippers, and artwork and prints by Louisiana artists.


Lacey Merrick Conway, of Latter & Blum ERA Powered, is a 2017 graduate of a Realogy brand-affiliated brokerage owners program for those who are in the process of grooming a successor. ERA Real Estate is a subsidiary of Realogy Holdings Corp.

The 46-week program focuses on succession planning and guides up-and-coming leaders to improve their skills, business acumen, strategic planning and management techniques. “It was an easy decision to enroll Lacey in the renowned Ascend program,” said Bob Merrick, owner of Latter & Blum ERA Powered.   

Latter & Blum ERA Powered is the nation’s 27th-largest real estate brokerage in number of transactions, with 1,400 agents in 32 offices in the markets of greater New Orleans, greater Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Alexandria, Houma, Thibodaux, Lake Charles and southern Mississippi. The company also operates NAI Latter & Blum Commercial Real Estate, Latter & Blum Property Management, Latter & Blum Insurance Services, Platinum Title and Essential Mortgage Co.

The American Society for Healthcare Engineering presented Blitch Knevel Architects with the National 2017 Vista Award in the renovation category for the design of the Memorial Hospital tower expansion in Gulfport, Mississippi.  

The award honors exceptional team performance and excellence in the health care design and construction. There is one award presented nationally for new construction, renovation and infrastructure projects. Memorial Hospital at Gulfport’s expansion and renovation project added two new floors and a rooftop penthouse to the hospital’s primary patient tower.

David White, of Aucoin Hart Jewelers in Metairie, won a first-place award in the 2017 Case Awards held by Jewelers of America, the national trade association for businesses serving the fine jewelry market.

White won in the jewelry of $2,001 to $5,000 retail value category for hand-fabricated diamond and sapphire earrings set with two pearls in white gold. White competed nationally among 58 jewelers in the competition. The design previously won an award at the Louisiana Jewelers Convention in August. 

Loyola University New Orleans won gold and silver awards in the 2016 Collegiate Advertising Awards program, recognizing higher education organizations for excellence in communications, marketing, advertising and promotions of their schools.

Loyola’s admissions materials won gold in the recruitment category, while Loyno Magazine won silver in the external publications category.


The Louisiana Travel Promotion Association recently honored Louisiana Tourism Leadership Academy graduates, who spent 2016 developing their leadership skills to strengthen the state's tourism industry.

Area graduates are Christina Cooper, St. Tammany Parish Tourist and Convention Commission; Christy Naquin, Bayou Country Children’s Museum in Thibodaux; Connie Boudreaux Silva, Louisiana Office of Tourism; Jean-Paul Gisclair, New Orleans Tourism Marketing Corp.; Jesse Guidry, Lafayette Convention and Visitors Commission; Joey Pierce, Houma Area Convention and Visitors Bureau; Marie Stagg, Nottoway Plantation in White Castle; Megan Ryburn, River Parishes Tourist Commission; Morgan Moss, Myrtles Plantation in St. Francisville; Timothy Bush, Bayou Lafourche Area Convention and Visitors Bureau; Tracy Browning, Ascension Parish Tourist Commission; Zachary Ebarb, Visit Baton Rouge; Zane Wilson, with Renaissance Publishing LLC in Metairie; and Zeb Mayhew III, Oak Alley Plantation in Vacherie.