The acquisition of University Hospital & Clinics by Lafayette General Medical Center has prompted the founding of an official health system, Lafayette General Health, and changes in leadership for the system.

The health system owns or manages five facilities and has affiliations with several area hospitals.

Lafayette General Health’s board of trustees announced Wednesday that

David L. Callecod is now the president/chief executive officer of Lafayette General Health and Patrick W. Gandy Jr. is the new executive vice president and chief executive officer of Lafayette General Medical Center. Callecod’s main focus will be on system initiatives for LGH, while Gandy’s focus is directed at management of Lafayette General Medical Center.

Jared Stark is the new chief executive officer of University Hospital & Clinics.

Additional LGH system leadership roles include Roger Mattke, senior vice president and chief financial officer; Gordon Rountree, senior vice president, general counsel and chief legal officer; Dean Ducote, vice president in charge of operations and support services; Edwina Mallery, vice president and chief information officer; Paul Molbert, vice president in charge of network development and the Accountable Care Organization; and Carolyn Huval, vice president in charge of physician recruiting.

In medical roles, Dr. Ziad Ashkar is chief medical officer and Dr. Amanda Logue is chief medical information officer.

Several of the appointees share a dual role with the hospital and system-wide initiatives.

In addition to its flagship Lafayette General Medical Center, LGH owns or manages Lafayette General Surgical Hospital; St. Martin Hospital; University Hospital & Clinics; Lafayette Behavioral Health Unit; and Abrom Kaplan Memorial Hospital. LGH owns Lafayette General MD, a non-profit corporation that operates and manages several physician clinics.

LGH also has affiliations with and has affiliations with Opelousas General Health System; Abbeville General Hospital; American Legion Hospital – Crowley; Savoy Medical Center; and Franklin Foundation.