The LSU College of Engineering has inducted into its Hall of Distinction William A. Brookshire, Edward “Eddie” L. Rispone and Gerard “Jerry” L. Rispone.

Brookshire is co-founder and chairman of the board of S & B Engineers and Constructors Ltd., a privately owned company in Houston, with offices around the world. Brookshire earned his masters of science and Ph.D. in chemical engineering in 1959 and 1961, respectively.

Edward Rispone is co-founder and chairman of ISC Constructors LLC, which specializes in electrical and instrumentation engineering and construction. He is a 1972 LSU graduate with a bachelor of science in construction technology. Gerard Rispone is co-founder, president and chief executive officer of ISC Constructors LLC. He is a 1985 LSU graduate with a bachelor of science in electrical engineering.

ISC predominantly performs work for industrial owners throughout the Gulf Coast with its home office in Baton Rouge and branch offices in Houston and Beaumont, Texas. ISC began in 1989 and employs approximately 2,000 people with annual revenue of about $220 million.

Patrick Goldsmith, the director of the state House of Representatives Fiscal Division, was named the Master of Public Administration Alumnus of the Year by the LSU Public Administration Institute.

Goldsmith is the former director of performance auditing and actuarial service for the Louisiana Legislative Auditor’s Office.

James Honeycutt, LSU distinguished professor in the Department of Communication Studies, received the Outstanding Scholar in Communication Theory award from the Southern States Communication Association for his contributions to the knowledge and understanding of communication theory.

Honeycutt has authored, co-authored and edited more than 100 publications, including six books and more than 35 book chapters and encyclopedia entries.

Michael H. Rubin, a manager with law firm McGlinchey Stafford and a senior attorney in the firm’s Baton Rouge office, received the 2012 Distinguished Attorney award from the Louisiana Bar Foundation.


The Regional Medical Center of Acadiana has earned three-year accreditation for ultrasound from the American College of Radiology, following a reveiw process.


A Peace through Commerce Medal was awarded posthumously by the U.S. Department of Commerce to Eugene J. “Gene” Schreiber, former managing director of the World Trade Center of New Orleans. The award was presented to Schreiber’s widow, Mary Schreiber, by Under Secretary for International Trade Francisco Sanchez.

The award honors an individual, group or organization whose actions have significantly promoted and developed U.S. export initiatives, encouraged innovative approaches and/or improved overall U.S. trade.

Tierra Resources LLC in New Orleans has won the American Carbon Registry’s 2013 Innovation Award for its work on wetland conservation policy. The firm, led by Sarah Mack, was recognized for developing a set of standards to measure, report and verify the effect that healthy, restored wetlands could have on the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. LSU professor emeritus John Day and researcher Robert Lane are co-authors on the project.

Tierra Resources is currently piloting its first projects under the methodology in the Mississippi Delta region and plans to work with ACR to expand the methodology for applicability in California’s emerging market.