The Louisiana Bar Foundation has named as Fellows from the local area Sylvia S. Lowe, an attorney with the 3rd Circuit Court of Appeals in Lafayette, and Francisca M. M. Comeaux, an attorney with Phelps Dunbar LLP in Baton Rouge.

Fred Zaunbrecher, a rice farmer in Acadia Parish and a member of the Louisiana Rice Research Board, was honored as Farmer of the Year by the USA Rice Federation.

Zaunbrecher, a fifth-generation farmer, was recognized for his farming career and leadership in the rice industry. He graduated from LSU with a master’s degree in agronomy.

He farms rice, crawfish and soybeans on 4,600 acres with his brothers.

Also, Hayes rice farmer Paul Johnson and Dustin Harrell, LSU AgCenter agronomist and the next LSU AgCenter rice specialist, were among seven individuals chosen for the Rice Leadership Development Program.

Kent McKenzie, a former LSU AgCenter rice breeder at the Rice Research Station, was honored with the Rice Industry Award. He became the director of the California Cooperative Rice Research Foundation in 2000.

The American Society of Landscape Architects awarded Jeffrey Carbo Landscape Architects, of Alexandria and Baton Rouge, a national Award of Excellence for the firm’s design of Woodland Rain Gardens in Shreveport from among more than 200 national and international entries in the residential design category.

Lane Regional Medical Center received the Champions for Quality Care Award from the Louisiana Hospital Association for its statewide Hospital Engagement Network.

The award recognizes hospitals for achieving goals established as part of the federal Partnership for Patients Campaign.