Business Honors for July 6, 2014 _lowres

Changaram Venugopal, LSU School of Veterinary Medicine


Changaram Venugopal, who retired last month as a professor in the department of veterinary clinical sciences at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine, has been awarded an Academic and Professional Excellence Award in teaching by the Fulbright-Nehru Foundation.

He will spend five months in India teaching pulmonary pharmacology at the Kerala Veterinary and Animal Sciences University and giving seminars in other veterinary colleges and attending the Fulbright midyear meeting.

Larry Crumbley, the retiring KPMG LLP professor in LSU’s Department of Accounting, was recognized by the Pfeiffer University Department of Accounting and Fraud Investigation in Charlotte, North Carolina, for his achievements, contributions and career service in the field of forensic and investigative accounting.


The New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute announced 41 graduates from its nine-month program designed to enhance leadership skills and examine issues central to advancing the 10-parish Greater New Orleans region.

Through a competitive application process, the class brings together business, civic and community leaders representing all races, genders, industries and communities to promote regional collaboration.

Graduate September Hargrove was presented the program’s Regional Leadership Award and Scott Aiges received the Community Service Award based on their ambassadorship for the Greater New Orleans community.

Hargrove is chief operating officer of the New Orleans Start Up Fund. Aiges is director of programs, marketing and communications for the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Foundation.

The other graduates are Peter Aamodt, vice president of development at Stirling Properties; Mary Alexander, vice president of marketing and business development at Perez APC; Jessica Andrews, controller at Second Harvest Food Bank; Tammy Boyd, senior vice president and market sales executive at Capital One; Travis Capers, chief executive officer of Ochsner Medical Center Westbank; R. Erich Caulfield, of The Caulfield Consulting Group; and Timothy Clements, producer at Clements Insurance Services LLC.

Also, Anedra Coleman, assistant to the president of St. Charles Parish government; Richard Conway, chief operating officer at Gifted Nurses; Jeffrey Davis, general manager and CEO at New Orleans Public Belt Railroad; MarkAlain Déry, physician and assistant professor of clinical medicine at Tulane University School of Medicine; and Chana Doreaux, of the Recovery School District.

Also, Serina Duke, principal at St. John Parish schools; Gicel Estrada, district leader at Primerica; Paige Falgoust, communications director for St. John Parish government; Grady Fitzpatrick, vice president of business development at GNO Inc.; Asher Friend, partner, corporate and securities, at Jones Walker LLP; Carla Gendusa, attorney in the Office of Inspector General for the city of New Orleans; and Kurt Gerwitz, foreign exchange specialist at Whitney Bank.

Also, Alfonso Gonzalez II, president of Corporate Business Supplies Inc.; Rodney Greenup Jr., president of Gulf South Engineering and Testing Inc.; Bambi Hall, public information officer for the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development; Miwako Hattori, studio director at Manning Architects; Bo Jakins, managing partner at BridgeNet Technology Consultants; and Kim Marchand, independent consultant.

Also, R. Christopher Martin, special partner at Chaffe McCall LLP; Kate Mehok, CEO of Crescent City Schools; Demetric Mercadel, senior associate analyst at Entergy New Orleans; Paul Myers IV, vice president of business and professional banking at Metairie Bank; Joy Okoro, director of people, operations and diversity at Teach for America; Laura Plunkett, member of Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann LLC; and Katherine Raymond, president of the Junior League of New Orleans.

Also, Katherine Ricks, EHS/ESS delivery specialist at Dow; Mark Ripple, principal at Eskew+Dumez+Ripple; Elizabeth Roussel, partner, labor and employment, at Adams & Reese; Aspen Steib, community relations coordinator at Marathon Petroleum Co. LP; Cullen Tonry, owner of The Tonry Law Firm LLC; Suzanne Whitaker, director of communications at Peoples Health; and Ana Zorrilla, CEO of Louisiana SPCA.