Barbara K. Johnson, a principal at consulting firm The Johnson Group, was awarded Fellow status by the International Economic Development Council.

Fellowship is based on a member’s substantial contributions to the profession through service to IEDC and/or academic ventures directly related to the practice of economic development. The IEDC is a nonprofit membership organization with more than 4,400 members serving economic developers.


The Louisiana Chemical Association and Louisiana Chemical Industry Alliance presented Best in Louisiana SAFE awards to BASF Corp.’s DNT Plant in Geismar in the category of 100 or fewer employees; Americas Styrenics near Donaldsonville, 101-200 employees; ExxonMobil Polyolefins in Baton Rouge, 201-400 employees; and Axiall Corp. in Plaquemine, over 400 employees.

Sixty-nine chemical plants in the state competed in the awards program in which plants submit data demonstrating safety and environmental excellence.?